Andhra move to third with big win

Group C

Andhra 141 and 221 for 3 (Prasanth 75, Bharat 62) beat Kerala 229 (Gomez 81) and 129 (Vijaykumar 5-33) by 7 wickets

Andhra cruised to their first win of the tournament with fifties from openers Srikar Bharat and Prasanth Kumar, who helped them chase down 218 against Andhra on the last day in Vizianagaram. Andhra moved to third place in the Group C table, behind Himachal Pradesh and Assam.

Andhra were 55 for 0 overnight and stretched their opening stand to 95 before Bharat fell for a 64-ball 62, which featured eight fours and two sixes. Prasanth was joined by Mohammad Kaif and the duo nearly doubled the score with a stand of 75. However, Prasanth also could not get very close to the three-figure mark, dismissed for 75.

Andhra received two more stutters when No. 4 AG Pradeep was caught behind for 17 and Kaif retired hurt for 34 five overs later. But Andhra were only four runs away then and surpassed the target to collect six points.

Goa 269 and 181 for 2 (f/o) (Desai 100*, Asnodkar 51*) drew with Hyderabad 568 for 7 decl

Goa were made to follow-on by Hyderabad but an unbeaten century from Amogh Desai and fifty from Rohit Asnodkar helped them draw the match at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium. Goa were wrapped up for 269 in the first innings before Desai and Asnodkar saw them through till the end of the day.

Hyderabad took 11.1 overs to take the remaining four wickets from Goa's first innings. Bandekar moved from 24 for 46 by the time Chama Milind and Ashish Reddy took two wickets each, and Goa were still trailing by 299 runs when they were asked to follow-on.

Desai and Swapnil Asnodkar then put on a patient opening stand of 53 in 22 overs before Swapnil fell for 17. They lost their second wicket also soon but Desai and Rohit took them from 77 to 181 without losing another wicket and got their team one point compared to Hyderabad's three.

Jharkhand 217 (Kishan 60, Goswami 4-20) and 78 for 4 (Krishna 3-17) drew with Assam 191 and 235 for 9 decl (Pallavkumar 78, Sibsankar 60, Ajay 4-29)

Assam took their chances of an unlikely win by setting Jharkhand a target of 210 but could not take more than four wickets, as Jharkhand took three points and Assam got one from the drawn match in Guwahati.

Assam were 173 for 3 at one point before stuttering in the second half of the day. They started the day on 157 for 2, leading by 131, but medium-pacer Ajay Yadav dismissed both overnight batsmen - Pallavkumar and Arun Karthik - within five runs. Ajay struck again and made the score 187 for 5, finishing with 4 for 29. Legspinner Samar Quadri didn't allow any other Assam batsman to score more than 12 by taking three lower-order wickets, before Assam declared.

Jharkhand got a scare when Krishna Das took three wickets and reduced them to 32 for 4, but Saurabh Tiwary and Kaushal Singh steered the innings with unbeaten scores of 28 and 24 respectively to draw the match on 78 for 4.

Services 368 for 2 (Paliwal 139*, Yashpal 101*) drew with Tripura 430 (Banik 93, Takawale 89, Acharjee 83)

Tripura and Services collected one point each from their high-scoring drawn match in Delhi because Services could not finish their first innings by the end of the fourth day. Ten for 0 at the beginning of the day, Services added 358 to their score as Rajat Paliwal and Yashpal Singh notched unbeaten hundreds.

Services were initially led by Soumik Chatterjee's 77 as his opening partner Pratik Desai retired hurt for 23 and No. 3 Aman Sharma was caught behind for 18. A stand of 138 runs between Chatterjee and Paliwal nearly took them to 200 before the opener was dismissed by Abhijit Dey. The day was then dominated by Paliwal (139*), who scored his sixth first-class hundred, and Yashpal's 101* was his 15th.