Sarwan recalled to one-day squad

Ramnaresh Sarwan plays a defensive stroke Associated Press

Ramnaresh Sarwan has been recalled to the West Indies squad for the fourth one-day international against Pakistan. Sarwan had been one of three senior batsmen dropped following the World Cup, but after some insipid batting which has seen West Indies fall 3-0 behind in the five-match series the selectors have decided experience is required. The squad for the final one-dayer has not yet been announced.

Sarwan replaces opener Devon Smith, who has had a nightmare of a series, falling lbw to Mohammad Hafeez's offspin three times, but he is most likely to slot into the middle order which has struggled in the three games to date. Marlon Samuels, who has returned to international cricket, and Kirk Edwards have both laboured against Pakistan's spin bowling and brought scoring to a standstill.

Sarwan, who has played 166 one-day internationals, scored 155 runs at 25.83 during the World Cup, and along with Chris Gayle and Shivnarine Chanderpaul, who is currently involved in a war of words with the WICB, was left out after Ottis Gibson, the coach, criticised the performances of senior players.

His return will appease officials in Guyana, Sarwan's home country, who had been angered by his and Chanderpaul's snub. The final one-day international of the series, and the first Test, will be played at Providence. However, due to West Indies' domestic season having finished, Sarwan hasn't had any chance to find form in the middle.

Despite having already lost the series there are no further changes to the squad for the fourth match. There were a few bright spots during the third match in Barbados as Ravi Rampaul and Devendra Bishoo almost pulled the game around for West Indies with some impressive bowling. However, the home side just haven't been able to score enough runs. Sarwan will hope to change that.

Squad: Darren Sammy (capt), Dwayne Bravo, Carlton Baugh (wk), Devendra Bishoo, Darren Bravo, Kirk Edwards, Anthony Martin, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons