Michael Bevan's record-breaking season was officially rewarded when he was named the Pura Cup Player of Year at the state awards in Brisbane today. Bevan scored 1464 runs at 97.6 in nine matches, the most in a Pura Cup/Sheffield Shield season, and collected 25 votes to beat Phil Jaques, the New South Wales opening batsman, by four.

James Hopes was the ING Cup Player of the Year, Karen Rolton was the WNCL Player of the Year and Tasmania won the Benaud Spirit of Cricket trophy.

Bevan's amazing season topped the performance of Matthew Elliott's 1381 runs last season, and his eight centuries were another high for domestic first-class competition. He was so dominant that the second-placed Jaques was 312 runs behind despite playing one more match.

Hopes, the Queensland allrounder, narrowly beat his Australia teammate Andrew Symonds for the one-day award. Scoring 293 runs at 32.55, Hopes also picked up 11 wickets and finished on 20 points, one ahead of Symonds. Both players missed the ING Cup final loss to Tasmania as they were on the limited-overs tour of New Zealand.

Tasmania's up-and-down season - they won the ING Cup and came last in the Pura Cup - finished on a moral high as they beat South Australia for the Spirit of Cricket perpetual trophy for outstanding player conduct. New South Wales, Queensland and South Australia tied for the women's prize.

Rolton, the Australia vice-captain, was a convincing winner in the women's individual award and added it to her Women's International Cricket of the Year prize at the Allan Border Medal in January. She captured 27 points for her 298 runs at 59.6 and 15 wickets at 8.73 for South Australia, finishing nine ahead of Victoria's captain Belinda Clark.

Peter Parker, the Queensland umpire who beat the 67-game record of Steve Randall this month, was recognised as the best umpire of the season. Parker, who has stood in six Tests and 48 ODIs, will umpire in Friday's Pura Cup final between Queensland and New South Wales at the Gabba.

Pura Cup Player of the Year
25 Michael Bevan Tasmania
21 Phil Jaques New South Wales
17 Andy Bichel Queensland
15 Stuart MacGill New South Wales
15 Shaun Tait South Australia

ING Cup Player of the Year
20 James Hopes Queensland
19 Andrew Symonds Queensland
17 Marcus North Western Australia
15 Mathew Elliott Victoria
14 Brad Haddin New South Wales

WNCL Player of the Year
27 Karen Rolton Southern Scorpions
18 Belinda Clark Victoria Spirit
16 Melanie Jones Victoria Spirit
16 Lisa Sthalekar New South Wales Breakers
12 Lauren Ebsary Southern Scorpions
12 Jodie Purves Queensland Fire