Amy Satterthwaite will resume the captaincy of the Melbourne Renegades in the WBBL after missing last season while pregnant with her first child with wife Lea Tahuhu who has also been retained by the club.

The Renegades have locked in their full 15-player squad for the new season which includes the signing of Erin Fazackerley from the Hobart Hurricanes.

Satterthwaite was recently overlooked for the New Zealand captaincy when Sophie Devine took the role full-time having stepped in for Satterthwaite during her time away. She has been back training in recent weeks with the New Zealand players at their winter camps.

"It'll be great to rejoin the team in a playing capacity this season after Jess Duffin did such a fantastic job leading the group last year," Satterthwaite said. "I've enjoyed getting back into training in recent months and I've embraced the challenge of working on my game after a few sleepless nights, but it's all good fun.

"I'm looking forward to working alongside our new coach Lachie Stevens and seeing what the team can achieve."

Tahuhu, one of the fastest bowlers in the world, will spearhead what should be a strong attack that also includes Australia spinners Sophie Molineux, Molly Strano and Georgia Wareham. The Renegades reached the semi-finals of last year's tournament.

"Amy and Lea bring so much leadership and skill to the group and we're excited about seeing what Erin can do this season," Stevens said. "There's obviously some continued uncertainty about how the season will unfold but we'll just focus on preparing as best we can and tackle the challenges that confront us along the way."

The WBBL is due to begin on October 17 and run to November 29. There are expected to be changes to the original schedule due to the travel restrictions currently in place around the country with the likelihood of more hubs being used.

Melbourne Renegades WBBL squad Makinley Blows, Maitlan Brown, Josie Dooley, Jess Duffin, Erin Fazackerley, Ella Hayward, Lizelle Lee (SA), Carly Leeson, Sophie Molineux, Courtney Neale, Amy Satterthwaite (captain, NZ), Molly Strano, Lea Tahuhu (NZ), Georgia Wareham, Courtney Webb