A 30-ball 50 from Shehan Jayasuriya, followed by an incisive performance from Udarata Rulers' bowlers, helped the team to a 55-run victory against Western Troopers for their second straight win of the tournament.

Udarata, put in to bat, scored at more than seven an over right from the start as the openers Dhananjaya de Silva and Upul Tharanga raced to 55 in 7.2 overs.

Troopers fought their way back into the contest by dismissing both batsmen in successive overs, but a 60-run association for the third wicket between Jayasuriya and Chamara Silva once again helped Udarata wrest the advantage.

Jayasuriya thumped four fours and two sixes during his half-century, and Lahiru Thirimanne's 10-ball 21 included one four and one six, as Udarata finished with 174 for 5.

Troopers never got going in their chase, and wickets hindered their momentum at regular intervals. Ajantha Mendis was the pick of the Udarata bowlers, taking 3 for 28, while Dilhara Lokuhettige, Asela Gunaratne and Milinda Siriwardana shared six scalps between them to dismiss Troopers for 119 in 18.2 overs.

The Southern Express v Yaal Blazers game was washed out. After Southern Express chose to bat, they put up 139 on the back of an unbeaten 43 from Jehan Mubarak. Alankara Asanka Silva and Ramith Rambukwella were chiefly responsible for holding Southern Express back, sharing seven wickets between them while conceding just 46 in their eight. Yaal Blazers did not really get off to a solid start in the case though, falling to 21 for 2 in four overs before play had to be abandoned.