At Karachi, July 3, 2008 (day/night). India won by six wickets. India 2 pts. Toss: Sri Lanka.

India confirmed their place in the final against Sri Lanka with another well-paced run-chase against a Sri Lankan attack lacking Chaminda Vaas and Ajantha Mendis, both rested. The Sri Lankan total looked imposing enough, but for the third time in the tournament a target of 300- plus was overhauled with some ease on a benign pitch. Gambhir, who hit 11 fours, and Sehwag made another bright start (92 in 11.4 overs), then Raina and Dhoni, whose 67 came from 62 balls, put on 99: India strolled to victory

Man of the Match: M. S. Dhoni.

Osman Samiuddin is Pakistan editor of Cricinfo