Bangalore retain foreign players for CLT20

The Warriors, Victoria and Central Districts - the home teams of Jacques Kallis, Cameron White and Ross Taylor respectively - have been compensated US$200,000 each by the Bangalore franchise according to the tournament's rules

Cricinfo staff
Andrew Flintoff happy at the press conference, London, August 24, 2009

Andrew Flintoff, who was ruled out of the English domestic season due to a knee injury, has not been included in Chennai's final squad  •  PA Photos

The teams participating in the Champions League T20 in South Africa this year have named their final squads, with Royal Challengers Bangalore retaining three foreign players who were also eligible to represent their home teams in the tournament. The Warriors, Victoria and Central Districts - the home teams of Jacques Kallis, Cameron White and Ross Taylor respectively - have been compensated US$200,000 each by the Bangalore franchise according to the tournament's rules.
Andrew Flintoff, the England allrounder, who was included in the Chennai Super Kings preliminary squad, has been left out. He was ruled out of the remainder of the English domestic season due to a knee injury that has been troubling him since the end of the Ashes last year.
West Indies stars Kieron Pollard and Dwayne Bravo - who helped South Australia and Victoria respectively to qualify for the Champions League - will represent Mumbai Indians, their IPL team, in the competition. Their home team Trinidad and Tobago, however, did not qualify.
"CLT20 regulations stipulate that with Jacques Kallis, Ross Taylor and Cameron White playing for their IPL franchise instead of their home teams, RCB must compensate the Warriors, Central Stags and Victorian Bushrangers US$200,000 each respectively," Dean Kino, the tournament's governing council member and Director of Legal and Business affairs said. "While a number of other players were eligible to play for more than one team in South Africa, no compensation is payable due to their home teams not qualifying for this year's event."
Allan Hunt, coach of Central Districts, admitted that losing Taylor was unfortunate, but had to be accepted. "We've known for some time he'd be picked up by Bangalore and we've been planning for that occurrence," Hunt told the New Zealand Herald. "You can't replace him. He's our key player and one of our principal run-getters in our success in the HRV Cup last year."
Ten teams will compete in the tournament, including Guyana who won the inaugural Caribbean T20. The Champions League gets underway on September 10 and finishes on the 26th.
Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni, S Badrinath, M Vijay, Suresh Raina, R Ashwin, Shadab Jakati, A Srikkanth, L Balaji, Muttiah Muralitharan, Michael Hussey, Doug Bollinger, Thilan Thushara, Albie Morkel, Matthew Hayden, Joginder Sharma.
Warriors: Davy Jacobs, Ashwell Prince, Colin Ingram, Mark Boucher, Johan Botha, Nicky Boje, Craig Thyssen, Juan Theron, Makhaya Ntini, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Justin Kreusch, Garnett Kruger, Arno Jacobs, Lyall Meyer, Jon Jon Smuts.
Victoria: David Hussey, Ryan Carters, Aaron Finch, Shane Harwood, John Hastings, Brad Hodge, Andrew McDonald, Bryce McGain, Clint McKay, Glenn Maxwell, Dirk Nannes, James Pattinson, Rob Quiney, Peter Siddle, Matthew Wade.
Wayamba: Jehan Mubarak, Mahela Udawatte, Mahela Jayawardene, Jeevantha Kulatunga, Kaushal Lokuarachchi, Kushal Janith Perera, Rangana Herath, Chanaka Welegedara, Ajantha Mendis, Farveez Maharoof, Thissara Perera, Damitha Hunukumbura, Shalika Karunanayake, Isuru Udana, Sameera Zoysa.
Central Districts: Adam Milne, Bevan Griggs, Brad Patton, Brendon Diamanti, Doug Bracewell, George Worker, Jacob Oram, Jamie How, Kieran Noema-Barnett, Mathew Sinclair, Michael Mason, Mitchell McClenaghan, Peter Ingram, Seth Rance, Tim Weston.
Mumbai Indians: Shikhar Dhawan, Sachin Tendulkar, Ambati Rayudu, Saurabh Tiwary, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, R Sathish, Ali Murtaza, Dhawal Kulkarni, Aditya Tare, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, JP Duminy, Lasith Malinga, Ryan McLaren.
Royal Challengers Bangalore: Anil Kumble, Rahul Dravid, Robin Uthappa, Manish Pandey, Praveen Kumar, R Vinay Kumar, Virat Kohli, Cameron White, Ross Taylor, Dale Steyn, Jacques Kallis, Dillon du Preez, B Akhil, Abhimanyu Mithun, Nayan Doshi.
South Australia: Cullen Bailey, Daniel Harris, Graham Manou, Daniel Christian, Gary Putland, Peter George, Callum Ferguson, Michael Klinger, Jake Haberfield, Tim Ludeman, Shaun Tait, Tom Cooper, Chris Duval, Cameron Borgas, Aaron O'Brien.
Guyana: Ramnaresh Sarwan, Royston Crandon, Lennox Cush, Travis Dowlin, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Narsingh Deonarine, Jonathan Foo, Derwin Christian, Christopher Barnwell, Esuan Crandon, Devendra Bishoo, Assad Fudadin, Paul Wintz, Steven Jacobs, Richard Ramdeen.
Lions: Alviro Peterson, Thami Tsolekile, Craig Alexander, Shane Burger, Richard Cameron, Werner Coetsee, Cliffe Deacon, Zander de Bruyn, Robert Frylinck, Neil McKenzie, Ethan O'Rielly, Aaron Phangiso, Jean Symes, Jonathan Vandiar, Vaughn van Jaarsveld.