Bangladesh have named pace bowler Abu Jayed as part of their 15 for the World Cup. Jayed, who is yet to debut in ODIs, had impressed with his swing bowling during the Tests in New Zealand last month. Middle-order batsman Mosaddek Hossain, who last played for Bangladesh in the Asia Cup in September 2018, also made a comeback for the showpiece event.
The two made it into a mostly settled Bangladesh side, which, however, had no place for pacer Taskin Ahmed and batsman Imrul Kayes.
Chief selector Minhajul Abedin said that Jayed, who has so far played five Tests and three T20Is, would be handy in England with his ability to swing and move the ball, while Mosaddek offered an all-round option - bowling offbreaks in addition to his batting - to cover for Mahmudullah, who has a right shoulder injury.
Mosaddek returned to form through the Dhaka Premier League; so far, he has made 428 runs at an average of 47.55, with one century, in 12 games. Jayed has 12 wickets so far in the tournament, which is Bangladesh's premier domestic one-day competition.
The five senior players - Mashrafe Mortaza, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah and Mushfiqur Rahim - form the core of the squad, with the likes of Rubel Hossain and Mustafizur Rahman among the other experienced members.
Soumya Sarkar and Liton Das have form issues, but they have been picked as potential match-winners. Mohammad Mithun, who was one of the better batsmen during Bangladesh's recent ODI exchanges against New Zealand, will form part of the middle order.
Teams can make changes to their World Cup squads till May 23, without seeking permission from the ICC. ESPNcricinfo understands that the April 23 deadline to name the 15 was set by the ICC with a view to get logistics in order, such as booking rooms and travel for teams.
The selectors have also included the uncapped duo of Yasir Ali and Nayeem Hasan in the squad that will face Ireland and West Indies ahead of the World Cup. Yasir did well at this year's Bangladesh Premier League (307 runs in 11 matches for Chittagong Vikings) while Nayeem has been earmarked as an offspinner for the future after his performance in the Test series against West Indies at home in November last year.
Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Liton Das, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Saifuddin, Abu Jayed, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain
Additions for Ireland tri-series: Yasir Ali, Nayeem Hasan

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84