Matches (15)
IPL (2)
ACC Premier Cup (2)
Women's QUAD (2)
County DIV1 (5)
County DIV2 (4)

BCB elections to be held on October 6

The elections will be for 23 out of the 25 people on the board of directors

Mohammad Isam
Mohammad Isam
BCB president Nazmul Hassan speaks at a press interaction  •  Raton Gomes

BCB president Nazmul Hassan speaks at a press interaction  •  Raton Gomes

The BCB announced on Tuesday (September 21) that its board of directors' elections will be held on October 6. The announcement came from the election commission hours after BCB president Nazmul Hassan said that 171 councillors have registered to vote for 23 out of 25 directors in office, after three exemptions. The National Sports Council, the government's overseer of all sporting federations in the country, selects the other two directors.
The election will be held in three categories: 71 councillors from the country's seven divisions and 64 districts will elect ten directors from among themselves, while 58 councillors from the Dhaka clubs will elect 12 directors. One director will be elected from the third category of former cricketers and national captains, various educational institutions, security forces and NSC nominated councillors.
The last meeting of the 2017-21 board of directors was held on Tuesday. Reportedly, two directors are unlikely to contest the elections while another, Lokman Hossain Bhuiyan, is offloaded as Mohammedan Sporting Club's councillor. But the October 6 election is likely to be a formality with most of the directors expected to return.
BCB president Nazmul Hassan however called for "new leadership", even suggesting that he would step down from his position as the BCB president.
"I don't have a panel this year. Anyone can contest the election. I am hopeful there'll be an election this year. If I win, I will become a director. I don't want to be the board president. I will be there for support," he said.
That route, however, seems very unlikely. Hassan has been the BCB's chief since 2012 when AHM Mustafa Kamal left the BCB's post to take over as the ICC's vice-president. Hassan won the 2013 and 2017 elections, with the rest of the board of directors, mostly uncontested.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84