The inaugural Caribbean Premier League (CPL), West Indies' city-based Twenty20 competition, will be held between July 29 and August 26 this year, the WICB has announced.

West Indies do not have any international engagements during that period, which will allow all regional players to participate in the tournament. The league is expected to comprise six privately owned teams and will replace the existing Caribbean T20.

"After a successful run of the Caribbean Twenty20, we hand the baton over to Verus International as they take charge and establish the CPL," WICB chief executive Michael Muirhead said. "The WICB is excited about the prospects that the CPL will bring for the players, the fans, sponsors and the economies of the Caribbean. We look forward to an explosion of cricket and all the attendant benefits for all stakeholders."