Six West Indies internationals, currently preparing for the VB Series in Australia, will take part in the North-South classic that remains a part of Trinidad and Tobago's cricket tradition. Brian Lara is not expected to play, though Mervyn Dillon, Ricardo Powell, Dwayne Bravo, Denesh Ramdin and the Ganga brothers, Daren and Sherwin, will all take part.
According to the Trinidad Express, Dudnath Ramkesoon, vice president of the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board, has suggested that the match will be used to select a team for T&T's first Carib Beer Series game against Guyana, which starts in Balmain on January 7.
The paper quoted Ramkesoon, who is also on the senior selection panel, as saying: "This is a very important game. It is an integral part of our preparations for the Carib series and many a player has come out of nowhere and forced himself onto the national team."
The squad will rely on less experienced players for at least the first half of the Carib Beer Series, with the stars returning from the VB Series in Australia only in February.
North Imran Jan (capt), Ricardo Paty, Lendl Simmons, Aneil Kanhai, Earnil Ryan, Jonathan Augustus, Leron Lezama, Rayad Emrit, Shakeel Ali, Dwayne Bravo, Mervyn Dillon, Ricardo Powell, Timul Ali.
South Daren Ganga (capt), Sherwin Ganga, Tishan Maraj, Gregory Mahabir, Shazam Babwah, Samuel Badree, Denesh Ramdin, Dave Mohammed, Ravi Rampaul, Amit Jaggernauth, Theodore Modeste, Kenton Thompson, Rishi Bachan. Giles Antoine (manager).