Dinda, Veer Pratap rattle Karnataka

A round-up of the first day's play from Ranji Trophy Group A matches on December 14, 2014

Karnataka 237 for 7 (Gautam 63, Vinay 42*, Dinda 4-50, Veer Pratap 3-45) v Bengal
An early burst from Ashok Dinda and a late strike from Veer Pratap Singh helped Bengal reduce Karnataka to 237 for 7 on the first day in Kolkata.
Dinda, who had made it to India's World Cup probables and before the game stated his goal of firing Bengal to Ranji glory this season, struck on the second ball of the day, having Robin Uthappa caught behind for a duck. He dealt another blow in his next over, removing Mayank Agarwal in similar fashion, before dismissing Kunal Kapoor for 24 in the 11th over.
Manish Pandey drilled five fours to make his way to 25, but was unable to push on and was caught behind to give the keeper Shreevats Goswami his fourth catch of the day, after Karun Nair had also done the same off Veer Pratap. The visitors were precariously placed at 69 for 5, but Stuart Binny and CM Gautam led a recovery with a 64-run partnership.
Dinda, however, once again made the breakthrough, having Binny caught off his own bowling for 37 in the 33rd over. Gautam carried on, stroking 63 - his second consecutive half-century - with 11 fours and a six, but was dismissed by Veer Pratap towards the end of the day. Dinda ended the day with 4 for 50, while Veer Pratap collected 3 for 45. Karnataka's captain Vinay Kumar (42*) and Shreyas Gopal (27*) were at the crease when stumps were called.
Jammu & Kashmir 28 for 3 trail Tamil Nadu 254 (Rangarajan 93, Raza 5-68) by 226 runs
Left-arm spinner Waseem Raza's five-wicket haul restricted Tamil Nadu to 254 in Dindgul and Jammu & Kashmir were jolted by early wickets, ending the day 28 for 3. TN were struggling at 144 for 7 at one point but No. 8 M Rangarajan rescued them with a quickfire 93, his highest first-class score.
TN were reduced to 36 for 3 after they opted to bat as Raza took two of those three early wickets. Opener Abhinav Mukund resisted with 35 and the middle order built on that, albeit with low double-digit scores, before Raza struck again and R Prasanna was run out. TN stuttered from 101 for 5 to 144 for 7 before Rangarajan counterattacked with a fifty that propelled them past 200 and towards 250. His 93 off 75 featured 14 fours and three sixes and he put on 49 and 54 for the eighth and ninth wickets respectively. Samiullah Beigh ended Rangarajan's innings and Raza's maiden five-for in first-class matches kept them to 254.
However, J&K lost their top order before ending the day, rocked by spinners Rahil Shah, Aushik Srinivas and Rangarajan who took a wicket each.
Madhya Pradesh 195 for 7 (Bundela 80, Rameez 52, Praveen 3-14, RP Singh 3-55) v Uttar Pradesh
Uttar Pradesh's frontline pacers Praveen Kumar and RP Singh returned to first-class cricket with three wickets each, troubling Madhya Pradesh, who finished the first day in Indore at 195 for 7. Middle-order batsmen Devendra Bundela and Rameez Khan revived the innings with a stand of 125 runs after MP were 30 for 3 in the 17th over.
MP were put in to bat and RP Singh removed the openers in consecutive overs, trapping both batsmen lbw. Praveen dismissed No. 3 Mohnish Mishra before Bundela and Rameez consolidated the innings with patient fifties. Bundela struck nine fours and two sixes before he was caught behind off Praveen for 80. Rameez also fell eight overs later, to RP Singh, for 52 as MP approached 200. Chinaman Kuldeep Yadav also chipped in with a wicket after Praveen had Zafar Ali also caught behind, for a duck, and MP stuttered again while trying to reach the 200-run mark.
Railways 25 for 2 (Javed 1-6, Thakur 1-11) v Mumbai
Rain and bad light allowed only 8.2 overs in Delhi where Railways lost their openers to the Mumbai pacers, ending the day at 25 for 2. Mumbai chose to field in foggy conditions before Shardul Thakur and Javed Khan took a wicket each within the first six overs.