Matches (16)
IPL (1)
T20I Tri-Series (1)
County DIV1 (5)
County DIV2 (4)
CE Cup (2)
WI vs SA (1)
USA vs BAN (1)
ENG v PAK (W) (1)
ESPNcricinfo Awards

ESPNcricinfo Awards 2010: Southee and Tendulkar readers' favourites

ESPNcricinfo's readers differed with the jury in two categories: Test and Twenty20 batting

ESPNcricinfo staff
Sachin Tendulkar walks back after becoming the first man to score a one-day double-hundred, 2nd ODI, Gwalior, February 24, 2010

Sachin Tendulkar's score changed this year but his votes didn't  •  Getty Images

ESPNcricinfo's readers picked VVS Laxman's 73 against Australia in Mohali as the best Test batting performance of 2010, differing with the jury's pick, Laxman's 96 in Durban. The readers also preferred Suresh Raina's century against South Africa in the World Twenty20 to Michael Hussey's unbeaten 60 in the semi-final of the same tournament.
The rest of the picks matched the jury's: Dale Steyn got 27% of the votes for his seven-for in Nagpur. The bulk of the other Test bowling votes were split between Harbhajan Singh (5 for 59 v South Africa in Kolkata) and Mohammad Amir (5 for 52 v England at The Oval).
Sachin Tendulkar received more than half the votes polled for his one-day double century, the first in the format - a performance that was voted the top ODI innings of the year by 10 members of the jury as well. Coincidentally Tendulkar polled the same percentage of readers' votes last year for the same category last year, when he won for his 175 against Australia.
The one-day bowling award, which went to Umar Gul for his 6 for 42 against England, got about a third of the readers' votes for the category.
The largest margin of victory, though, was 61% of the votes polled, by Tim Southee, for his five-for, which included New Zealand's second T20 hat-trick.
Readers' top three in each category
Test Batting Test Bowling ODI Batting ODI Bowling Twenty20 Batting Twenty20 Bowling
VVS Laxman (24%) (Mohali) Dale Steyn (27%) (Nagpur) Sachin Tendulkar (56%) Umar Gul (36%) Suresh Raina (39%) (World Twenty20) Tim Southee (61%)
VVS Laxman (21%) (Durban) Harbhajan Singh (18%) Abdul Razzaq (19%) Ryan Harris (16%) (Perth) Michael Hussey (21%) Shaun Tait (24%) (Dubai)
Azhar Ali(14%) Mohammad Amir (13%) Shahid Afridi (7%) Ashish Nehra (15%) Brendon McCullum (17%) Graeme Cremer (6%)