J&K 75 all out, Harshal five-for, Mishra hat-trick

A round-up of the Vijay Hazare Trophy matches that took place on December 13, 2015

Harshal Patel's five-wicket haul led to Karnataka's collapse, Haryana v Karnataka, Ranji Trophy, Group A, Lahli, 2nd day, December 7, 2013

File photo: Harshal Patel claimed a five-for and a fifty to sweep Jammu & Kashmir aside

Harshal Patel ran through Jammu & Kashimir with his first List A five-for, then came back as an opener to hammer 54 of the required 76-run target. The cherry on top of a match that Haryana wrapped up with only 33 overs bowled in two innings was a hat-trick for legspinner and captain Amit Mishra.
Jammu & Kashmir won the toss, chose to bat and just withered away as Harshal wrecked their top order with 5 for 21. There were five ducks in all and only three scores in double-digits. At 38 for 7, they were in danger of being bowled out for under 50 but a 37-run eighth wicket partnership between Ram Dayal and Zahoor Sofi took them past that ignominy. Eventually Mishra brought himself on as fifth-change broke the stand and knocked the tail over to claim his first List A hat-trick.
Haryana decided to have a bit more fun and sent Harshal out to open. He came back unbeaten with 54 off 27 balls, with seven fours and three sixes.
Saurabh Tiwary's unbeaten 94-ball 87 steered Jharkhand to a five-wicket win over Kerala in Bangalore.
Jharkhand suffered a wobble in their chase of 237 and were struggling at 129 for 4 in the 32nd over after MS Dhoni's dismissal for 18. Tiwary and Kaushal Singh kept the chase on track with a stand of 75 for the fourth wicket. Kaushal was dismissed for 48 but Tiwary stayed until the end, ensuring a win for the side in 47 overs.
Earlier, Kerala's total of 236 for 8 was propped up by fifties from opener VA Jagadeesh (60) and Sachin Baby (61). The pair also shared a 77-run, fourth-wicket stand before Padmanabhan Prasanth provided quick runs at the end with an unbeaten 34 off 18 deliveries.
Axar Patel turned in yet another all-round show to help Gujarat record a four-wicket win over Railways in Bangalore's Alur grounds, their second win in as many matches at the 2015-16 Vijay Hazare Trophy.
Railways, who were sent in to bat, were driven by Arindam Ghosh(96*) to 259 for 5. The other vital contributor apart from Ghosh was Mahesh Rawat, who made 60, with Karn Sharma (26) and Ashish Yadav (22*) lending the finishing touches to the Railways innings.
Gujarat lost Smit Patel for a duck, but captain Parthiv Patel, and Priyank Panchal steadied the innings with a 64-run stand. But Railways fought back courtesy Karn, who dismissed both batsmen in quick succession to leave them in a hint of trouble at 79 for 3. That became 126 for 4 when Yadav dismissed Manprit Juneja to bring the match back on an even keel. But Axar (75) and Rujul Bhatt (72) put together 120 for the fifth wicket to allay fears of a meltdown as Gujarat won with two balls to spare.