At Peshawar, November 8. Australia won by five wickets. Toss: Pakistan. International debut: Asif Mahmood.

Pakistan's 217 offered few challenges to Australia's in-form batsmen. Julian took three wickets, but it was the opening bowlers, McGrath and Fleming, who really set the tone. Bevan again controlled Australia's innings from No. 6, before Lehmann smashed a four to end the contest with 11 balls to spare. The win gave the Australians the series although, as their disgruntled captain Steve Waugh noted after play, they were not to be rewarded with a trophy.

Man of the Match: B. P. Julian.