The South Australian Cricket Association (SACA) has announced a 12-man squad, featuring all three Redbacks rookies, to compete in South Australia's second Cricket Australia Cup match of the season.

South Australia plays New South Wales in the four-day game starting tomorrow October 27 on Bankstown Oval. The team will be captained by Redbacks batting all-rounder Ben Johnson, in what will be his first captaincy role for a State side.

Johnson said that it is an honour to be selected to lead a South Australian team.

"It really is an honour to lead a representative side for the State. We have an excellent group of young players and I look forward to seeing how they perform against a strong New South Wales side," he said.

"This is a good opportunity for the squad, particularly Ferguson, Duval and Cameron, our three rookies, to display their talent at a State level."

The South Australian squad, which is coached by Redbacks assistant coach, Jamie Siddons, is:

Ben Johnson (captain)Trent Kelly
Ben CameronJim Plant
Mark CosgroveMuhammad Sheikh
Daniel CullenOliver Thomas
Chris DuvalJeff Vaughan
Callum FergusonLuke Williams

The Cricket Australia Cup is a tournament for each State's second XI team to gain quality match practice throughout the season. Each State, including the ACT, plays each other once throughout the season.