Surrey's 17-year-old allrounder Sam Curran has been named in the England Under-19s squad for their tour of Sri Lanka. Hampshire offspinner Brad Taylor will captain the team.
Wellington schoolboy Curran, who has made a big impact with his left-arm seam bowling since debuting for Surrey in July and scored his maiden first-class fifty in the ongoing Championship match at The Oval, is joined by another 17-year-old in Somerset batsman George Bartlett.
The rest of the squad, which includes Lancashire opener Haseeb Hameed, Essex batsman Dan Lawrence and Hampshire legspinner Mason Crane - all of whom have made an impressions in first-class cricket this summer - featured in the Test and one-day series with Australia earlier this summer.
The tour will feature a tri-series with Sri Lanka and India as England continue their preparations for next year's Under-19 World Cup in Bangladesh.
As part of the England Development Programme, the ECB has also selected ten players to take part in a winter training camp at the National Performance Centre in Loughborough.
EDP chairman of selectors, David Graveney, said: "The tour to Sri Lanka before Christmas represents the last chance for the players to impress ahead of the final selection of the squad for the ICC Under-19 World Cup in Bangladesh in January and February next year.
"We have selected a strong squad based on performances against Australia under-19s this summer, alongside giving opportunities to a couple of players who haven't featured at this level before. It is now down to them to show that they deserve to be named in the World Cup squad when that is announced towards the end of December.
"The tri-series involving Sri Lanka and India Under-19s will present a tough challenge, and it is a further learning opportunity for all the players in subcontinent conditions. It should be a great tour and a precursor to what they can expect in Bangladesh during the World Cup next year."
England U-19s squad for Sri Lanka: George Bartlett (Somerset), Hugh Bernard (Kent), Jack Burnham (Durham), Mason Crane (Hampshire), Sam Curran (Surrey), Ryan Davies (Kent), Ben Green (Somerset), Haseeb Hameed (Lancashire), Adam Hickey (Durham), Max Holden, (Middlesex), Dan Lawrence (Essex), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Tom Moores (Nottinghamshire), Brad Taylor (capt, Hampshire), Callum Taylor (Essex), Jared Warner (Yorkshire)
EDP winter training squad: Ed Barnes (Yorkshire), Aaron Beard (Essex), Josh Dell (Worcestershire), Tom Haines (Sussex), Tom Keast (Nottinghamshire), Felix Organ (Hampshire), George Panayi (Warwickshire), Ollie Pope (Surrey), Josh Tongue (Worcestershire), Ben Twohig (Worcestershire)