West Indies selectors have put faith in the inexperienced squad named on July 21 despite the senior players calling off their strike. The seniors had made themselves available for international duty following the appointment of an arbitrator to settle their dispute with the West Indies Cricket Board but the selectors have stuck with a weakened unit.

The strike forced the selectors to pick a second-string side that lost both Tests, handing Bangladesh their first overseas series victory. Floyd Reifer will continue to lead the side.

"They [are] not picking us for the first two games; so I guess that sums up the situation," Chris Gayle posted on his Twitter feed. "They are the boss playing hardball."

The WICB and the West Indies Players' Association (WIPA), which is negotiating on the cricketers' behalf, agreed to resolve the impasse by mediation on Tuesday, after meeting with Guyana president Bharat Jagdeo, who is also chairman of the 15-nation trading bloc Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM). Both sides agreed to the appointment of former Commonwealth secretary general Shridath Ramphal as arbitrator.

The first two ODIs will be staged at Windsor Park in Dominica on July 26 and 28. St Kitts will host the third and final match on July 31, as well as the only Twenty20 international two days later.

Squad: Floyd Reifer (capt), Darren Sammy, David Bernard, Travis Dowlin, Andre Fletcher (wk), Rawl Lewis, Nikita Miller, Nelon Pascal, Kieran Powell, Dale Richards, Kemar Roach, Devon Smith, Devon Thomas, Gavin Tonge