At Port Elizabeth, April 13. Sri Lanka won by six wickets. Toss: South Africa.

South Africa suffered their only defeat of the tournament as Sri Lanka celebrated their first win. It looked an unlikely outcome when Sri Lanka lost their first three wickets for 17, chasing 232. But that brought in Ranatunga, to share successive century stands with Atapattu and Mahanama. He finished unbeaten on 93, including nine fours and a six, as his team won with 20 balls to spare. South Africa, by contrast, started well but declined from 78 without loss to 104 for four. Despite the efforts of Gibbs and Rhodes, the innings never really took off against some tight bowling.

Man of the Match: A. Ranatunga. Attendance: 10,643.