Toss: India.

The tournament ended as it began, with a rain-affected 25-overs game between Sri Lanka and India. Winning the toss was like winning the match, said Azharuddin, who did both. With no reserve day allowed, the fixture was moved from the waterlogged R. Premadasa Stadium. Even so, the captains felt conditions were too wet for an international, but the umpires ruled that they were not actually dangerous and play began at 1.55 p.m. Azharuddin needed no prompting to insert Sri Lanka, who struggled on a seaming pitch and suffered three run-outs on slippery ground. Chasing only 99, Azharuddin and Sidhu shrugged off the loss of the openers, adding 71 at five an over. But they perished in their hurry to get home while the light held. New batsmen Kambli and Bedade had difficulty sighting the ball - Kalpage even bowled a maiden. Amid the eerie light of paper torches in the crowd, bright against the tropical evening, Kambli finally chipped the ball teasingly over De Silva's head to seal victory.

Man of the Match: M. Azharuddin. Man of the Series: A. Ranatunga.

Batsman of the Series: S. R. Tendulkar. Bowler of the Series: S. R. Waugh.