Tareq twin fifties seals Rajshahi Division victory

A round-up of the National Cricket League matches which ended on March 5, 2015

Shamsur Rahman plays through the leg side, West Indies v Bangladesh, 1st Test, St Vincent, 3rd day, September 7, 2014

File photo: Shamsur Rahman scored a fifty and picked up a maiden five-wicket haul  •  WICB Media/Brooks LaTouche Photography Ltd

At the BKSP-2 ground, Rajshahi Division chased down a target of 353 in the final hour of play to beat Barisal Division by four wickets. Touhid Tareq was adjudged Man of the Match for hitting fifties in both innings including a 95-ball 77 that helped keep up with a required rate nearly four in the final innings.
Rajshahi needed the 353 runs in a minimum of 91 overs, but they lost opener Mizanur Rahman and Junaid to become 76 for 2 in the 22nd. The other opener Maisuqur Rahman, who made 80 off 141 balls with eleven fours and a six, added 83 runs for the third wicket with Mohimenul Islam who chipped in with 49.
Mohimenul added 105 runs for the fourth wicket with Tareq, but both batsmen were dismissed in the space of five deliveries to leave Rajshahi at 266 for 5 in the 80th over. With 87 needed off 69 balls, Farhad Reza bashed 50 off 32 balls with four boundaries and three sixes, before Muktar Ali guided them home with an unbeaten 31.
If anything, Barisal would have rued their first innings when they were bowled out for 235. Sohag Gazi top-scoring with 59 as left-arm spinner Saqlain Sajib took five wickets for Rajshahi, who then took a 12-run lead in the first innings. Gazi shot back with a five-wicket haul and medium-pacer Kamrul Islam Rabbi took three wickets. Junaid Siddique made 58 while Tareq was unbeaten on 65 off 157 balls.
Barisal replied better in their second innings, making 364 in 83.5 overs with fifties from Fazle Mahmud (75), Mosaddek Hossain (88) and Al-Amin (70). Left-arm spinner Sanjamul Islam took five wickets.
Khulna Division continued to lead the NCL points table after they dominated their drawn sixth-round game against Dhaka Metropolis in BKSP-3 ground. They are now on 90 points, ahead of second placed Dhaka Division by just two points.
Khulna made 416 having chosen to bat, with 20-year old Mahedi Hasan scoring his maiden ton in his third first-class match. He made 140 off 205 balls with 20 fours and two sixes while Tushar Imran (69) and Ziaur Rahman (79) also struck fifties. Offspinner Sharifullah took three wickets.
Dhaka Metro were then bowled out for 341 with fifties from Saikat Ali (61), Shamsur Rahman (64), Mehrab Hossain jnr (81) and Sharifullah (57). Left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak took 5 for 135 while Al-Amin Hossain, sent home from the World Cup, took 1 for 52.
Khulna extended their 75-run lead by 331 runs on the final day, but their declaration came with an hour left for close of play on the final day, and both captains were happy to accept a draw after part-timer Shamsur took his maiden five-wicket haul.
Dhaka Division were held to a draw by Rangpur Division in Mirpur.
Dhaka, having chosen to bat, were bowled out for 335 with Raqibul Hasan making 130 during an innings that lasted six hours and included 13 fours and two sixes. He added 137 runs with Jony Talukdar, who struck 90 off 149 balls with 13 fours. Seamer Subashis Roy took 4 for 61.
Rangpur fell behind by 29 runs after they were bowled out for 306. Seamers Shahadat Hossain and Mohammad Sharif took four wickets each while Dhiman Ghosh (81) and Ariful Haque (68) hit fifties.
Dhaka were then bowled out for 259 runs in the second innings and left Rangpur one hour of play on the fourth day, who batted out the 18.3 overs without much difficulty.
Sylhet Division and Chittagong Division played out a draw in Fatullah.
Sylhet consumed 159 overs to amass 507 for 8 after opting to bat with Alok Kapali reaching his maiden double-hundred. He was unbeaten on 211 after seven and a half hours at the crease. He struck 18 fours and three sixes and added 191 runs for the fourth wicket with Rajin Saleh, who made 111 off 265 balls. Left-arm spinner Mohammad Younus took three wickets.
Chittagong meandered to 332 runs in 124.3 overs with Iftekhar Sajjad hitting his maiden first-class ton. He made 126 with 16 fours and three sixes. Pacer Abul Hasan and offspiner Sadiqur Rahman took three wickets each. Sylhet managed to bat out an hour and 38 minutes before play was called off by mutual consent.