Tests return to Christchurch, Auckland retained

Christchurch's Jade Stadium returns to the Test cricket fold this summer when hosting the third test with Pakistan

Lynn McConnell
Christchurch's Jade Stadium returns to the Test cricket fold this summer when hosting the third test with Pakistan.
The last Test played in Christchurch was the drawn match against South Africa two summers ago and next year's match will be the first Test in New Zealand played on a portable pitch.
Fears that Auckland might not hold a Test this summer proved unfounded and it will host the first match of the Pakistan series on March 8-12 with the second Test being played in Hamilton from March 15-19.
Wellington will hold the Boxing Day test against Zimbabwe, the third year in succession it has hosted a Test at this time. However, the venue has still to be decided. It will also have a three-day game against Wellington between the second and third Tests.
Cricket interests are keen to play the Test at the Basin Reserve while the WestpacTrust Stadium trustees are keen for the match to be played at the 34,500-seat stadium.
Of the 13 ODIs being played this summer 10 will be day-night matches. Three against Zimbabwe will be played on January 2 at Taupo, on January 4 in Wellington and January 7 in Auckland.
Five will be played against Sri Lanka. They are: January 31, Napier; February 3 Wellington; February 6, Auckland; February 8, Hamilton; February 11, Christchurch. The match at Hamilton will be the first day/night game to be played at WestpacTrust Park.
Another five will be played against 1999 World Cup finalist Pakistan. They are: February 17, Auckland; February 20, Napier; February 22, Wellington; February 25, Christchurch; February 28, Dunedin.
Dunedin may have only one full-blown international game but Otago will host the first Under-19 Test match at Alexandra from January 29-February 1.
The South African Under-19 team will play three Tests, the second at Lincoln from February 4-7 and the third at Pukekura Park in New Plymouth from February 10-13.
Three one-day matches will be played, two in Taupo on February 16 and 18 and the last at Auckland on February 20.