Titans 269 (Morkel 79) and 170 for 2 (van Jaarsveld 72*) drew with Dolphins 176 and 470 (Watson 103, Benkenstein 151, Steyn 5-124)
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Dale Benkenstein won the Man-of-the-Match award for his unbeaten 151 © Cricinfo Ltd

The SuperSport Series trophy has been shared after a soporific stalemate in the final at Durban. Needing 378 to win, the Titans never realistically attempted the run-chase, while the Dolphins managed to take just two of their ten required wickets.

The light at Kingsmead once again had the final say, with more than five hours of play lost over the five days of the final. Not even the early start times could help the situation.

Starting the day at 11 for 0, the Titans did not take up the chase as they ambled along to 170 for 2 just 15 minutes after the tea break, when the light was once again offered and accepted. With no real chance of either team winning the players shook hands as they left the field to share the trophy.

Martin van Jaarsveld did manage to put together a very good 72 not out but that was not enough for the Man-of-the-Match award which went to Dale Benkenstein for his magnificent 151.

With the teams sharing the trophy there is, however, still no indication from the United Cricket Board as to who will represent South Africa in the first-class competition in India later this year.

Keith Lane works for Cricinfo in South Africa