Tony de Zorzi has been named captain of the South Africa team that will look to defend its crown at the Under-19 World Cup in Bangladesh in January-February 2016.

The announcement was made during the gala dinner organised by Cricket South Africa in Port Elizabeth. "Well done to all the players selected into the U-19 World Cup squad. This is a formative start to what can turn out to be a memorable tournament as defending champions and ultimately a career as a professional cricketer." Haroon Lorgat, CSA's chief executive, said.

"It is worth recalling that Kagiso Rabada was the bowling spearhead of our previous campaign and we all know the impressive strides he has made since then to represent the Proteas with distinction. The opportunity is there for you all to begin to live your dreams and to travel in the knowledge that you not only have the CSA Family right behind you but indeed the entire nation."

Lawrence Mahatlane, the former assistant coach of Lions who took over the coaching duties of the Under-19 national team from Ray Jennings last year, was confident that he had the right squad to defend their title.

"It has been a very exciting process," he said. "We have a lot of players that we have tried out and given a lot of international exposure to. I think the fact that majority of the team has been to Bangladesh already can only serve us in good stead. It's been tough at times, there are a few young men who will be very disappointed that they will not be going to the World Cup, but I believe that we have picked a really good side, a very well-balanced side that will represent our country well."

The squad will assemble in Stellenbosch for a four-day preparatory tournament from January 4, before flying out to Bangladesh later in the month. South Africa are grouped alongside Bangladesh, Scotland and Namibia, and will open their campaign against the hosts in Chittagong on January 27.

Squad: Tony de Zorzi (capt), Ziyaad Abrahams, Dean Foxcroft, Dayyaan Galiem, Willie Ludick, Wandile Makwethu, Conner McKerr, Rivaldo Moonsamy, Wiaan Mulder, Luke Philander, Farhaan Sayanvala, Lutho Sipamla, Liam Smith, Kyle Verreynne and Sean Whitehead.