At Melbourne, January 15, 2017 (day/night). Pakistan won by six wickets. Toss: Australia.
Pakistan achieved their first win of the tour, thanks mainly to their suffocating slow bowlers. As at Brisbane, Australia began by digging themselves a hole. From 41 for three, Smith rallied with 60 and a series of handy partnerships with the middle order, before being bowled from his 101st ball trying to up the tempo. On a slow surface, Pakistan's spin trio whipped through 24 overs, taking a collective three for 97. The chase began with Smith dropping acting-captain Mohammad Hafeez at slip in the first over. From there, the approach was low risk and, after a sturdy foundation of 68 with Sharjeel Khan, Hafeez continued past 50. Australia sniffed a chance when Babar Azam and Hafeez fell in quick succession, but Shoaib Malik calmly ended Pakistan's sequence of nine one-day international losses away to Australia, going back to 2004-05.
Man of the Match: Mohammad Hafeez.