At Mirpur, February 28, 2016 (floodlit). Bangladesh won by 23 runs. ‡Bangladesh 147-7 (20 overs) (Sabbir Rahman 80, Shakib Al Hasan 32; P. V. D. Chameera 3-30); Sri Lanka 124-8 (20 overs) (L. D. Chandimal 37; Al-Amin Hossain 3-34). MoM: Sabbir Rahman.
Bangladesh, who lost both openers for ducks, were indebted to Sabbir Rahman for their first Twenty20 victory over Sri Lanka, after four defeats. He struck three leg-side sixes and ten fours, grabbing any opportunity to blast through midwicket or the covers. When he fell for 80 in the 16th over, he had scored 74% of his team's 108. He had, though, been partly guilty in the run-out of Mushfiqur Rahim, which left Bangladesh 26-3. Shakib helped add 82, but struggled for timing - unlike Mahmudullah, who walloped a 12-ball 23 - as they reached a competitive 147. Sri Lanka were given two early let-offs in the slips, but the boundaries dried up and, with five overs remaining, Sri Lanka needed 56. Angelo Mathews might have been the man for the job, but he laboured to a boundaryless 12 from 20 balls