At Mumbai (Brabourne), January 12, 2017. India A won by six wickets. ‡England XI 282 (48.5 overs) (A. D. Hales 51, J. M. Bairstow 64; Parvez Rasool 3-38); India A 283-4 (39.4 overs) (A. M. Rahane 91, S. P. Jackson 59, R. R. Pant 59).
An entirely different India A side looked weaker on paper than two days previously - but raced to victory. It would have been even more of a stroll, but for a tenth-wicket stand of 71 between Adil Rashid and David Willey. England's white-ball captain Eoin Morgan, out for three in the previous game, went first ball this time, as did Buttler. India A's openers Ajinkya Rahane and Sheldon Jackson started with 119 in 18.5 overs, then the prolific Rishabh Pant spanked 59 from 36 deliveries. Both sides chose from 12 players.