Redbacks all-rounders Brad Young and Mick Miller have today broken the all time eighth wicket partnership record for South Australia in first-class cricket.

In day two of the Pura Cup clash against the Queensland Bulls at Adelaide Oval, Young and Miller set a new South Australian eighth wicket batting partnership record of 222.

This surpasses the previous record of 192 held by Clem Hill and Walter Giffen when South Australia played Stoddart's XI (an England XI) at Adelaide in 1894/95.

Earlier in their innings, the pair surpassed the highest eighth wicket stand against Queensland of 161, which was held by Don Bradman and Merv Waite from 1937/38.

The pair broke the South Australia Pura Cup/Sheffield Shield eighth wicket partnership record when they reached 175. The record was previously held by Don O'Connor and Andrew Zesers from 1984/85.

Miller scored 112 in his innings, for his maiden century, with South Australia ending their first innings on 464.