Previous season: Did not participate

Big picture

The Sylhet franchise's new owners have put together a relatively young side. Their star attractions would be Babar Azam, Sabbir Rahman and Liam Plunkett although the little-known Ross Whiteley's T20 form from the English summer has gone as far as earning him this contract.

Sylhet Sixers also have batting strength in the likes of Andre Fletcher, Upul Tharanga and Danushka Gunathilaka as well as local performers like Imtiaz Hossain and Nasir Hossain.

Plunkett will lead the bowling attack alongside three left-arm pace bowlers -- Krishmar Santokie, Usman Khan and Ghulam Mudassar. Taijul Islam and Chaturanga De Silva will play an important role with their accurate left-arm spin while Wanindu Hasaranga's legspin will be an attacking option at some stage.

Sylhet have also picked some regional talent including Imtiaz, Nabil Samad and Abul Hasan, as well as Kamrul Islam Rabbi and Mohammad Sharif, both handy medium-pacers.

Key player

Sylhet would expect a lot from Babar Azam, whenever he is available and free from international commitments for Pakistan. Azam has 686 runs from 25 T20 matches this year, with two fifties. But he is in form in limited-overs cricket, so he will automatically be Sylhet's most cherished batsman.


Zafrul Ehsan is an experienced coach who has worked in different levels of league and age-group cricket in Bangladesh. He is known to have a quiet personality, and will be challenged in his first stint as a head coach of a BPL team.

Below the radar

Ghulam Mudassar is a 17 year old left-arm fast bowler from Karachi, who has so far played only two T20s. But he's known to have a lot of potential, so he will be one to watch out for when Sylhet play.


Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Taijul Islam, Nurul Hasan, Abul Hasan, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Mohammad Sharif, Nabil Samad, Imtiaz Hossain, Shuvagata Hom, Mohammad Sharifullah, Liam Plunkett, Ross Whiteley, Andre Fletcher, Andre McCarthy, Krishmar Santokie, Babar Azam, Usman Khan, Ghulam Mudassar, Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Chaturanga De Silva, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84