Bangladesh Premier League 2012-13

Five BPL franchises sign contracts with BCB

Mohammad Isam

December 22, 2012

Comments: 4 | Text size: A | A

BPL chairman Afzalur Rahman Sinha flanked by BPL franchise owners, Mirpur, December 22, 2012
BPL chairman Afzalur Rahman Sinha flanked by BPL franchise owners © BCB

Eleven months after they had acquired Bangladesh Premier League teams, five franchises out of seven have signed agreements with the Bangladesh Cricket Board. Sylhet Royals and Barisal Burners were the two teams that were not present in the ceremony held in Mirpur on Saturday, which took place after a long meeting between the franchises and the BPL governing council.

"The agreement was signed in a very cordial atmosphere," Ismail Haider Mallick, the BPL secretary, said. "It also ensures a successful journey of the BPL along with these franchises in future.

"Barisal Burners could not complete the formality as their owners left the country earlier this morning, while the signing with Sylhet Royals will be completed within a few days."

The signing of the agreement by five of the seven teams, signals a possible end to the BPL's biggest scourge. Ever since the first franchisee auction in January this year, the lack of a proper contract between the two most important parties was always pointed out as the root cause of all trouble, including the player payment issues.

It was understood throughout the year that because the BPL governing council didn't have a proper contract they weren't in a legal position to put pressure on the franchises that were not paying the players on time.

The franchises were reluctant to become a partner of Game On Sports, the tournament's event management firm, and the BPL governing council. Their demand of signing a contract only with the BCB was agreed upon.

Six divisions were won by six corporate houses in the franchise auction for the BPL before the inaugural edition. SQ Sports quoted Chittagong for $1.2 million, Orion Group got Khulna for $1.1 million, Digital Auto Care got Rajshahi for $1.07 million and a conglomerate led by Walton got Sylhet for $1.06 million. Dhaka was picked by Europa Group for $1.05 million and Barisal went to Alif Group for $1.01 million. Earlier this month, Flora Telecom brought Rangpur for $1.01 million to be the seventh franchise in the competition.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent

RSS Feeds: Mohammad Isam

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by ruahmed on (December 24, 2012, 9:45 GMT)

I really thing 1st BPL had a bad impression to International cricketers regarding the payments. that's why this time so many foreign player did not want to play, how ever New Zealand's and Australian's domestic T20 tournament is also going on.that's why may be we will miss some international stars but may b we will see some big name in later part of BPL.

Posted by ExtremeSpeed on (December 23, 2012, 12:35 GMT)

That's a good move because continue breaching rules by the franchises will just make them lose ownership of their teams.

Posted by   on (December 22, 2012, 17:41 GMT)

We don wana see the repetition of pay issue in this series by anymeans be sure our honored franchises. We already already earned bad reputation for such so make something positive about this issue to rectify the damage done by some of our fellow countrymen.

Posted by   on (December 22, 2012, 17:24 GMT)

Great news! hopefully this will finally shut-up the jealous critics on minnows (not for long) having their own franchise based league. Hopefully not only this second season but future seasons will help BPL and Bangladesh Cricket dearly.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Mohammad IsamClose
Tournament Results
Dhaka v Chittagong at Dhaka - Feb 19, 2013
Dhaka won by 43 runs
Chittagong v Royals at Dhaka - Feb 18, 2013
Chittagong won by 3 wickets (with 5 balls remaining)
Chittagong v Royals at Dhaka - Feb 17, 2013
Match abandoned without a ball bowled
Chittagong v Rajshahi at Dhaka - Feb 16, 2013
Chittagong won by 4 wickets (with 16 balls remaining)
Dhaka v Royals at Dhaka - Feb 15, 2013
Dhaka won by 4 runs
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days