India in Bangladesh 2009-10

Shafiul Islam included for India Tests

Cricinfo staff

January 11, 2010

Text size: A | A

Shafiul Islam and Mushfiqur Rahim are delighted to see the back of Dinesh Karthik, Bangladesh v India, Tri-series, 6th ODI, Mirpur, January 11, 2010
The rookie Shafiul Islam has been included for the two Tests against India at home © Associated Press
Related Links

Shakib Al Hasan will continue to lead the Bangladesh Test side for the two-match series against India in the absence of Mashrafe Mortaza, who still has not recovered from a knee injury. Mortaza had also missed the ongoing tri-series despite being named in the preliminary squad.

There were no major surprises in the 14-man squad for the series as the selectors opted for nearly the same set of players who toured the West Indies last July and swept the series 2-0. Fast bowler Shafiul Islam, who made his international debut in the ongoing tri-series, is the only player in the squad without Test experience.

Besides Mortaza, allrounder Mehrab Hossain jnr and reserve wicketkeeper Saghir Hossain were left out from the squad which had gone to the West Indies. Opener Shahriar Nafees earned a Test recall after quitting ties with the Indian Cricket League. Nafees is the fourth opener in the squad besides Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes and Junaid Siddique.

The first Test starts on January 17 in Chittagong.

Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Mushfiqur Rahim (vice-capt/wk), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Junaid Siddique, Mohammad Ashraful, Raqibul Hasan, Mahmudullah, Shahriar Nafees, Shahadat Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Enamul Haque jnr, Mahbubul Alam, Shafiul Islam.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tour Results
Bangladesh v India at Dhaka - Jan 24-27, 2010
India won by 10 wickets
Bangladesh v India at Chittagong - Jan 17-21, 2010
India won by 113 runs
India v Sri Lanka at Dhaka - Jan 13, 2010
Sri Lanka won by 4 wickets (with 9 balls remaining)
Bangladesh v India at Dhaka - Jan 11, 2010
India won by 6 wickets (with 42 balls remaining)
India v Sri Lanka at Dhaka - Jan 10, 2010
India won by 8 wickets (with 104 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days