ICC Awards 2012 August 13, 2012

Stafanie Taylor up for top ICC award

ESPNcricinfo staff

West Indies allrounder Stafanie Taylor has become the first woman to be nominated for the ICC Cricketer of the Year award after being included in the 2012 longlist for the ICC's top accolade. This is the first time the men's and women's voting academy and awards have become fully integrated and puts Taylor, who was named Women's Cricketer of the Year in 2011, in contention for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy along with Pakistan's Saeed Ajmal, South Africa's Hashim Amla and Vernon Philander, Australia captain Michael Clarke, Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara, England's Alastair Cook and Stuart Broad and India's Virat Kohli.

Taylor also features in two new categories of women's awards that will be introduced this year: the ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year and ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year. Ajmal, Amla, Clarke, Sangakkara and Cook lead the nominations for male cricketers, after being featured in three categories - the ICC Cricketer of the Year, ICC Test Cricketer of the Year and ICC Men's ODI Cricketer of the Year longlists.

The shortlists for the awards will be announced towards the end of August and the longlists will be pruned to four per category. The People's Choice award, though, will retain the current five nominations: Sangakkara, India's Sachin Tendulkar, Philander, South Africa's Jacques Kallis and England's James Anderson.

This year's awards include 11 individual prizes and will also feature the selection of the Test and ODI Teams of the Year. The awards ceremony will be held on 15 September in Colombo ahead of the ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka.

The longlists of nominations were made by a five-man ICC selection panel chaired by former West Indies captain and current chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee Clive Lloyd. The panel also included former international players Clare Connor of England, Tom Moody of Australia, West Indies' Carl Hooper and Sri Lanka's Marvan Atapattu.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on August 16, 2012, 13:59 GMT

    Shakib for ODIs, Shakibs for Tests and Shakib for T20s simple! all the others are average :)))

  • Riya on August 14, 2012, 15:00 GMT

    This is brilliant for women's cricket!! I always wondered why every cricket awards ceremony featured just an overall Women's Cricketer award and no individual awards for ODIs, T20s etc. Stefanie really deserves being grouped with the men, her work all year has been brilliant-helped thrash our Proteas girls in the World T20 qualifiers too. Hope there are Proteas women in the longlists!! :)

  • imran on August 14, 2012, 10:17 GMT

    odi cricketer of the year should go to anyone of these kohli/cook/ab, test cricketer of the year shud be anyone among sanga/clarke/philander/ajmal...t20 performance should go to mendis...ajmal shud win d award for best cricketer of the year coz he has done well in all formats, emerging player shud go to junaid khan, kallis shud win ppl's choice...but the worst part of these awards is seeing tendulkar in the list of nominees...what has he done of note in the past year other than scoring a match-loosing 100 against bangladesh and joining politics...

  • Dummy4 on August 14, 2012, 8:43 GMT

    The selection panel is a mere eye wash. The real winners will be decided at the BCCI office somewhere in India. Alike bollywood movie awards, the ICC cricketers awards are topi drama.

  • Smith on August 14, 2012, 3:16 GMT

    @George Matt....Hahaha....Nice one with the Tendulkar award mate!!!really funny...i am an Indian and a Sachin fan but things like these do make us look like pretty dumb...can't do much about it though...!!!

  • Dummy4 on August 14, 2012, 1:27 GMT

    Where is Clark and J. Patterson? Both of whom played well, especially against the Indians. James completely dominated the Indians batsman and made them look like club Cricketer's. @Great_Aussie, Superstar!! nice joke. He should be in the category of most overrated player of the year. He will surely win.

  • Rahul on August 13, 2012, 19:58 GMT

    Y Sachin is ther bcoz he is most popular cricketer cricket has ever seen. Afridi is also very popular but mainly in Pak unlike great Sachin who is global superstar in all form of cricket

  • Dummy4 on August 13, 2012, 19:10 GMT

    ICC just do fun with that awards. There is no deserving players in the list like Hafeez performed in all three forms so he should be in the cricketer of the year catagory as well as Azhar Ali and Asad Shafiq, Adnan Akmal, Nasir Jamshed should be in emerging player of the year with Junaid Khan. There is no nomination of Abdul Rehman as he deserve to be in the catagory of test player of the year. He done his job superbly in the clean sweep against England but these English people always play game with the Pakistani's so they just make fool us after this ceremony ......... What Sachin is doing in the people choice award???? What he did last year .... nothing .... Fake nominy it is ....

  • Aussie on August 13, 2012, 19:07 GMT

    My Predictions: ICC Cricketer of the Year: Michael Clarke (AUS) ODI [ Runs: 759 Avg: 50.60 Wickets: 3 ] Test [ Runs: 1355 Avg: 58.91 Wickets: 8 ]

    ICC Test Cricketer of the Year: Michael Clarke (AUS) Test statistics for MJ Clarke :-- Runs: 1355 H.S. : 329* Avg: 58.91 100s: 5 50s: 2 Wickets: 8 Bowling avg: 25.87 & 5 for: 1

    ICC Men's ODI Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kholi (IND) ODI statistics for V Kohli:-- Runs: 1710 H.S. : 183 Avg: 68.40 100s: 8 50s: 6

  • Rahul on August 13, 2012, 18:34 GMT

    People choice award will always go to Sachin the man with most number of fans all over the world

  • No featured comments at the moment.