County news

Gale and O'Shaughnessy join first-class umpires list

ESPNcricinfo staff

December 13, 2010

Text size: A | A

The ECB have added Steve Gale and Steve O'Shaughnessy to the list of first-class umpires for 2011 following the retirements of Barry Dudleston and Vanburn Holder last season.

Steve O'Shaughnessy played first-class cricket for Lancashire and Worcestershire between 1980 and 1989, and has been umpiring since 2007. He is delighted to now get the chance to umpire first-class games. "I am thrilled to be given this promotion and am looking forward to having the chance to further my career as an ECB official," he said.

Steve Gale, meanwhile, is promoted after spending three seasons on the Reserve List following a playing career representing Shropshire in Minor Counties cricket between 1975 and 1987. ECB umpires' manager, Chris Kelly said: "We are pleased to welcome both Steve Gale and Steve O'Shaughnessy onto the Full List for 2011. Their commitment and attitude on the Reserve List has been outstanding and their promotion is the result of some exceptional performances in County Championship matches."

In addition, three new umpires have been added to the Reserve List for 2011: Alex Wharf, who played 13 ODIs for England between 2004 and 2005, Billy Taylor and Russell Evans. Wharf and Taylor retired from first-class cricket at the end of the 2009 season and Evans was contracted by Nottinghamshire between 1985 and 1990.

"We are pleased to welcome Billy, Alex and Russell onto the Reserve List for 2011 which maintains the number of umpires available at this level," said Kelly. "There is now plenty of competition for places on the Reserve List and these three have shown that they are in an excellent position to take their officiating forward."

ECB Full List 2011: Rob Bailey, Neil Bainton, Mark Benson, Martin Bodenham, Nick Cook, Nigel Cowley, Jeff Evans, Steve Gale, Steve Garratt, Michael Gough, Ian Gould, Peter Hartley, Richard Illingworth, Trevor Jesty, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong, Jeremy Lloyds, Neil Mallender, David Millns, Steve O'Shaughnessy, Tim Robinson, George Sharp, John Steele, Peter Willey.

ECB Reserve List 2011: Paul Baldwin, Ismail Dawood, Mark Eggleston, Russell Evans, Andy Hicks, Graham Lloyd, Steve Malone, Martin Saggers, Billy Taylor, Alex Wharf.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
Country Fixtures Country Results
1st Investec Test: England v India at Nottingham - Jul 9-13
India 457 England 352/9
North Division: Durham v Yorkshire at Chester-le-Street - Jul 11
Yorkshire 186/8 Durham 131/7 (17.5/20 ov)
North Division: Leics v Lancashire at Leicester - Jul 11
Lancashire 151/7 Leics 123/7 (18/20 ov)
South Division: Somerset v Gloucs at Taunton - Jul 11
Somerset 175/8 Gloucs 159/4 (18.3/20 ov)
North Division: Northants v Derbyshire at Northampton - Jul 11
Derbyshire 191/6 Northants 35/0 (3.2/20 ov)
South Division: Surrey v Glamorgan at The Oval - Jul 11
Glamorgan 192/4 Surrey 22/0 (2.4/20 ov)
North Division: Warwickshire v Worcs at Birmingham - Jul 11
Worcs 175/6 Warwickshire 29/0 (3.1/20 ov)
South Division: Hampshire v Middlesex at Southampton - Jul 11
Middlesex 155/5 (18.4/20 ov)
South Division: Sussex v Kent at Hove - Jul 11
Kent 128/7 (17.3/20 ov)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days