ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier, Group B, Dubai November 20, 2013

All-round Afghanistan thump Bermuda

ESPNcricinfo staff

Afghanistan 104 for 2 (Shahzad 60*) beat Bermuda 101 (Shenwari 3-20, Sadiq 2-16) by eight wickets

An unbeaten half-century by the opener Mohammad Shahzad completed an all-round performance by Afghanistan, as they thumped Bermuda in a Group B match in Dubai. Shahzad's 36-ball 60, which included nine fours and two sixes, helped Afghanistan overhaul the middling target of 102 with 10.1 overs to spare, and secure their third win in the competition.

Shahzad added 42 for the first wicket with Nawroz Mangal before compiling a quick 56 for the second with Mohammad Nabi, who blasted a 16-ball 33. Nabi hit three sixes and two fours, but was caught by Janeiro Tucker off his own bowling, when Afghanistan were four runs away from the target.

In the first half of the match, it was the Afghanistan spinners who bowled restrictive spells and picked up seven of the ten Bermuda wickets. Samiullah Shenwari was the most successful with three wickets, while Karim Sadiq and Mohammad Nabi picked up two wickets apiece. Only three batsmen managed double-digit scores from Bermuda as, they were bowled out in 18.1 overs.

Netherlands 110 for 5 (Myburgh 31, Regmi 3-12) beat Nepal 107 for 6 (Malla 44, Bukhari 3-15) by five wickets

Netherlands moved to the top of Group B with a five-wicket victory against Nepal, though second-placed Afghanistan are trailing by two points with a game in hand. Netherlands' bowlers set up the victory after Peter Borren won the toss, ensuring Nepal's run-rate did not escalate throughout the innings.

Nepal were reduced to 36 for 3, and after a 60-run stand for the fourth-wicket, they slipped again from 96 for 3 to 105 for 6. Gyanendra Malla, Nepal's top scorer, used 55 balls to score 44. Mudassar Bukhari took 3 for 15 for Netherlands.

Netherlands got off to a fast start in their chase, and by the time the openers were dismissed, they had scored 45 in six overs. Stephan Myburgh made 31 off 20 balls and was the top scorer. The rest of the Netherlands batting order made useful contributions, and Eric Szwarczynski was unbeaten on 21 when the winning runs were scored with 22 balls to spare.