West Indies in New Zealand 2013-14 November 18, 2013

West Indies retain Test squad despite drubbing

ESPNcricinfo staff

Despite a mauling in the recent Tests in India, West Indies have made no changes to their squad for the Tests in New Zealand next month. Darren Sammy, who scored 25 runs over four innings and bowled 21 wicketless overs in the series, continues to captain the side.

The hastily arranged series against India featured two innings-defeats, with neither Test stretching past the third day. Only two West Indian batsmen managed to aggregate more than 100 runs in the series, and the only bowler who had success was offspinner Shane Shillingford with 11 wickets. None of his team-mates managed to take more than two wickets.

The first of three Tests against New Zealand starts on December 3 in Dunedin. Currently at No. 6 on the Test rankings, West Indies will slip one rung lower should they lose 2-0 or worse.

Squad: Darren Sammy (capt), Denesh Ramdin (wk & vice-capt), Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Sheldon Cottrell, Narsingh Deonarine, Kirk Edwards, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Veersammy Permaul, Kieron Powell, Marlon Samuels, Shane Shillingford, Chadwick Walton (wk)