Ranji Trophy ODI tournament, 3rd day February 28, 2008

Chopra and Dhawan star in ten-wicket win

Cricinfo staff

The following are the summary of results from the third day of the Ranji Trophy one-day tournament

Aakash Chopra scored an unbeaten 130 off 140 balls in Delhi's big win over Punjab © Cricinfo Ltd

North Zone

Unbeaten centuries from Aakash Chopra and Shikhar Dhawan gave Delhi a massive ten-wicket win over Punjab at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi. Ravi Inder, Uday Kaul and Ankur Kakkar scored half-centuries to take Punjab to a competitive 274. But Chopra and Dhawan scored at more than six an over to chase the total with 39 balls to spare. Punjab used six bowlers and none of them conceded less than five an over, with Manpreet Gony and Kakkar going for more than seven each.

Vishal Bhatia took 4 for 32 with his left-arm spin as Himachal bowled out Haryana for 193 and chased the target with six overs to spare at the Harbax Singh Stadium in Delhi.

Jammu & Kashmir collapsed to a 96-run defeat against Services in Delhi's Palam A Ground. After Jasvir Singh (73) and Soomik Chatarjee (71*) steered Services to 281 for 6 in 50 overs, Rakesh Kumar removed the openers in the first over. Ian Dev Singh and Huwaid Ronga led a brief recovery of 59 runs but after Ronga was run out for 21, J&K kept losing wickets at regular intervals. A Kush, playing in only his second List A match, took 3 for 37.

East Zone

Bengal needed only 29 overs to wrap up a nine-wicket win against Assam at the North-East Frontier Railway Stadium in Guwahati. S Sharath scored an unbeaten 80 from 148 balls but with absolutely no support from the rest of the batsmen - the next highest score being 14 - he could only push Assam's total to 147. Arindam Das and Anustup Majumdar added 89 runs in 19 overs but after Majumdar's dismissal, Das and Wriddhiman Saha knocked off the remaining 59 required from 60 balls to gain a bonus point for Bengal.

Sourav Dubey's 106-ball 93 wasn't enough for Tripura to get their second win in a row as Orissa chased Tripura's 260 with four wickets spare at the Nehru Stadium in Guwahati. Pinninti Jayachandra and Preetamjit Das took three wickets each as no other Tripura batsman scored more than 39. Three half-centuries from top-order batsmen - Bikas Pati, Payas Ranjan Sinha and Halhadar Das - gave Orissa their second win of the tournament.

West Zone

After chasing 358 against Baroda at the same venue just a day before, Mumbai fell 46 runs short of Gujarat's 307 at the Deccan Gymkhana Ground in Pune. Mumbai bowlers Ajit Agarkar, Rohan Raje and Murtuza Hussain went for more than six and a half an over as four Gujarat batsmen helped themselves to half-centuries. Medium-pace bowler Abhishek Nayar was taken for 19 runs in his two overs. Mumbai were in trouble when they lost four wickets for 94 runs. Anup Revendkar and Aditya Tare got fifties but having lost those early wickets Mumbai couldn't pick themselves up for a fightback.

Kedar Jadhav ensured Maharashtra successfully chased Saurashtra's 327 by hammering a 97-ball 124 at the PYC Gymkhana Ground in Pune. Cheteshwar Pujara added 68 with Sagar Jogiyani and 107 with Shitanshu Kotak to take Saurashtra to a big total in their opening game of the tournament. Maharashtra scored at 6.8 runs an over and lost only five wickets in getting to the target.