Inter-provincial Twenty20 round-up April 28, 2008

Consistent Ruhuna enter Super Fours

Ruhuna, who finished on top after the preliminary rounds, entered the Super Four stage of Sri Lanka's inaugural inter-provincial Twenty20 tournament. Kandurata and Wayamba, the joint champions of the inter-provincial 50-over tournament, also qualified for the round-robin matches that will decide the finalists. Here's Cricinfo's coverage of the final three rounds of the league phase.

Round 3

Shanuka Dissaayake, the left-arm spinner, took 3 for 17 and effected a run-out to help Basnahira North to a 14-run win over the Schools Invitation XI at the Burgher Recreation Club Ground. Tharindu Thushan scored 36 opening the Schools' innings, but they collapsed once he was bowled by Dissaayake. Earlier, Basnahira North were bowled out for 117 after choosing to bat, with legspinner Udara Jayasundera claiming figures of 3 for 14.

Wayamba's seamers, Chanaka Welegedara and Tissara Perera, took three wickets each in their thrilling three-run win over Kandurata at the Colts Cricket Club Ground. Chasing 128, Kandurata slipped to 58 for 5, before they were rescued by a 54-run stand between Jeewan Mendis (27) and Chintaka Jayasinghe (33). Kandurata lost Mendis and allrounder Kaushalya Weeraratne in the penultimate over, and needed 14 runs when the last over began. But their chances of a win received a setback when Jayasinghe was dismissed in the first ball of the over, and while Akalanka Ganegama struck a six, he could not follow it up with another big hit. Earlier, Wayamba lost their top-half with just 66 runs on the board, but Asela Jayasinghe blasted 41 off 21 balls to ensure that they had a total to defend.

Sri Lanka opener Upul Tharanga stroked a fluent unbeaten 36-ball 58 which featured six fours and six sixes, to take Ruhuna to a comfortable seven wicket win over Basnahira South on the second game of the day at the Colts Cricket Club Ground. He was given support by Dilhara Lokuhettige, who made 37 off 23 balls, before Ruhuna finished off the chase with 52 balls to spare. Basnahira South, after deciding to bat, has made their way past fifty in the ninth over, but they fell apart once Hemantha Wickramarathne, who made 30, was dismissed.

Round 4

Ruhuna captain Indika de Saram slammed an unbeaten 43 not out off 13 balls with the aid of five sixes and two fours, in their eight-wicket trashing of the Schools Invitation XI at the Burgher Recreation Club Ground. Ruhuna were also aided by a 45-run second-wicket stand between Tharanga (28) and Lokuhettige (31). Earlier, Kushal Perera, who plays for the Sri Lanka Under-19s, scored a 46-ball 56 before the Schools XI were bowled out for 126.

Wayamba, aided by an unbeaten 48 by Jeevantha Kulatunga, claimed to a thrilling one-wicket win over Basnahira South at the Colts Cricket Club Ground. Kulatunga was involved in an unbroken 46-run stand with Chanaka Welagedera to take Wayamba home. Earlier, Shalika Karunanayake, the right-arm seamer, took 3 for 20 as Basnahira South were limited to 119 for 9.

Kandurata rode on Thilan Samaraweera's 46 to beat Basnahira North by a three-wicket margin in the afternoon game at the Colts Cricket Club Ground. Samaraweera got Kandurata's innings back on track as he added 40 runs with Weeraratne after they had slipped to 41 for 3 chasing 123. Prior to that, wicketkeeper Kaushal Silva carried his bat, scoring an unbeaten 51-ball 60. Left-arm spinner Sachith Pathirana was the most successful bowler from Kandurata, finishing with figures of 3 for 16.

Round 5

Basnahira South defeated Kandurata 3-1 via a bowl-out after their match at the Burgher Recreation Club Ground was washed out. Basnahira were 33 for no loss chasing Kandurata's imposing 200 when the rains came down. Earlier, Chamara Kapugedera struck 67 off 33, before Jeewan Mendis took centre stage, hammering 48 off only 18 balls aided by four sixes and as many fours.

Michael Vandort, who remained unbeaten on 30, and Mahela Udawatte (33), added 65 runs for the first wicket before Wayamba beat the Schools Invitation XI by 27 runs via the Duckworth-Lewis method at the Colts Cricket Club Ground. Put in, the Schools XI made 141 with Rangana Herath taking 3 for 20. Angelo Perera, with 47, was the Schools' top scorer.

Basnahira North's bowlers were on target as they overcome Ruhuna by a 3-1 margin in the bowl-out after their match at the Colts Cricket Club Ground was abandoned without a ball being bowled.

The Super Four matches along with the final on May 1 will be played at the Welagedera Stadium in Kurunegala.

Points table

Team Mat Won Lost Tied N/R Pts Net RR For Against
Ruhuna 5 4 0 0 1 19 +3.904 365/39.0 360/66.0
Wayamba 5 4 1 0 0 16 -0.316 543/85.2 511/76.3
Basnahira North 5 2 2 0 1 12 +0.066 533/78.5 520/77.4
Kandurata 5 2 2 0 1 9 +0.749 440/59.2 440/66.0
Schools Invitation XI 5 1 4 0 0 4 -1.627 556/86.3 588/73.0
Basnahira South 5 0 4 0 1 4 -1.168 500/80.0 518/69.5