India in Zimbabwe 2013

Rasool, Mohit get maiden call-ups; Kohli to lead

ESPNcricinfo staff

July 5, 2013

Comments: 243 | Text size: A | A

Parvez Rasool celebrates after dismissing Jacques Kallis, for his first IPL wicket, Pune Warriors v Kolkata Knight Riders, IPL 2013, Pune, May 9, 2013
Parvez Rasool is the first cricketer from Jammu and Kashmir to be given a national call-up © BCCI

Ins and outs

  • Out: M Vijay, R Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • In: Ajinkya Rahane, Chetehwar Pujara, Parvez Rasool, Jaydev Unadkat and Mohit Sharma

Offspinner Parvez Rasool has become the first cricketer from Jammu & Kashmir to earn a national call-up. He is part of the ODI squad to tour Zimbabwe, which will be led by Virat Kohli in the absence of the injured MS Dhoni.

Apart from Dhoni four others were rested, which resulted in a maiden call-up for Haryana and Chennai Super Kings seamer Mohit Sharma. Cheteshwar Pujara, who has played 13 Tests already, was in line for an ODI debut after being recalled to the limited-overs side. Medium-pacer Jaydev Unadkat, who has played one Test, was also back in the ODI squad, as was Ajinkya Rahane.

Among those rested were R Ashwin (playing non-stop since the start of India's home season last August), Ishant Sharma (non-stop since Zaheer Khan was dropped during the England series), Umesh Yadav (came back from an injury during the IPL) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (non-stop since Pakistan came to India in December). M Vijay, though, was dropped from the squad for the five ODI matches scheduled between July 24 and August 3.

There was no place for the dropped seniors - Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer - in either the ODI side or the A team that will tour South Africa. Vijay, however, has been named in the A squad. His ODI comeback might have been terminated based on just one innings - and Pujara's return to fitness - but his A team selection is a show of faith in him for the longer formats after he struck two 150s in his comeback Test series against Australia.

A sign of how inexperienced the ODI team is, and how seriously the selectors are taking the A tour, is that 10 of the India players in Zimbabwe will be part of the A tour. The A team will be captained by Pujara, and includes the top-two wicket-getters in the 2012-13 Ranji season: quicks Ishwar Pandey and Siddarth Kaul. Wriddhiman Saha joined Dinesh Karthik as the wicketkeeper, and Karnataka allrounder Stuart Binny was also picked.

Shahbaz Nadeem, who was the leading spinner in the Ranji season, has also been picked to partner Rasool in the A team's tri-series against Australia A and South Africa A, and two four-day games against South Africa A.

Rasool, who made his first-class debut for J&K in the 2008-09 season, has played 17 first-class matches, scoring 1003 runs and taking 46 wickets. He was named in the India A squad for a tour game against Australia in February this year, and also played his first IPL season for Pune Warriors.

The other newcomer, Mohit, has played 11 first-class matches for 44 wickets over two seasons, and had an impressive season for Super Kings in IPL 2013. He picked up 20 wickets in 15 matches to emerge as one of the leading uncapped players of the tournament.

India squad: Virat Kohli (capt.), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Cheteshwar Pujara, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Parvez Rasool, Shami Ahmed, R Vinay Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohit Sharma.

India A squad: Cheteshwar Pujara (capt.), Shikhar Dhawan, M Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha, Parvez Rasool, Shahbaz Nadeem, Shami Ahmed, Stuart Binny, Ishwar Pandey, Jaydev Unadkat, Siddarth Kaul

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by android_user on (July 12, 2013, 16:02 GMT)

The best Xi should be : Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Parvez Rasool, Vinay Kumar, Amit Mishra, Shami Ahmed

Posted by 11_Warrior on (July 12, 2013, 5:21 GMT)

@Al_Bundy1 agree with you my friend, my XI 1. Dhawan 2. Sharma 3.Kohli 4. Raina 5. Karthik 6. Raidu 7. Ravindra Jadeja 8.Parvez Rasool 9.Vinay Kumar 10.Jaydev Unadkat 11. Mohit Sharma. However i am not sure if a person who has played for ICL will get a chance in India's playing eleven.

Posted by   on (July 9, 2013, 5:14 GMT)

my XI for the Zimbabwe matches would be: 1. Shikhar Dhawan 2.Rohit Sharma 3.Virat Kohli(c) 4.Suresh Raina 5.Dinesh Karthik 6.Cheteshwar Pujara 7. Ravindra Jadeja 8.Parvez Rasool 9.Shami Ahmed/Vinay Kumar 10.Jaydev Unadkat 11. Mohit Sharma. If some positions aren't suitable, just feel free to comment.

Posted by Al_Bundy1 on (July 8, 2013, 22:04 GMT)

Excellent selection by the Selectors. Finally they have shown guts and rewarded Ranji Trophy toppers like Ishwar Pandey, Nadeem, Mohit Sharma, Shami Ahmed, Sid Kaul and Parvez Rasool. I believe that between Ishwar, Mohit, Shami, and Sid, we can find 2 good pacers. That should allow the Selectors to retire Ishant Sharma for good. Rasool is a bowling all-rounder like Jadeja and Raina. Nadeem can be as good as, or even better than Ojha. It's a good thing, Selectors did not select the same old - Praveen Kumar, Pathan, Gambhir, Sehwag, Yuvi, etc. Those old timers need to prove themselves in Rani Trophy before they can be considered.

Posted by volmitius on (July 8, 2013, 19:12 GMT)

only one thing... i would say that sursh raina could hav been dropped as well, after all he is a regular in all ODIs and T20s... he deserves some rest 2 !!!

Posted by   on (July 8, 2013, 13:37 GMT)

Fantastic that Mohit has got his chance after working so hard on his bowling for the past 18 months, and at the Corbett training camps in Haryana.

He learns fast and is a thoroughly great guy.

I hope this is the start of a long and successful career for him.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tour Results
Zimbabwe v India at Bulawayo - Aug 3, 2013
India won by 7 wickets (with 96 balls remaining)
Zimbabwe v India at Bulawayo - Aug 1, 2013
India won by 9 wickets (with 115 balls remaining)
Zimbabwe v India at Harare - Jul 28, 2013
India won by 7 wickets (with 87 balls remaining)
Zimbabwe v India at Harare - Jul 26, 2013
India won by 58 runs
Zimbabwe v India at Harare - Jul 24, 2013
India won by 6 wickets (with 31 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days