7.3 slapped away but Dilshan comes into play on the field. Dug in outside off at 144ks, Guptill rises on his toes and cuts it with Dilshan taking a good catch, diving low to his left 42/1
    17.4 Latham connects the sweep this time but he top edges it to fine leg, that's a soft dismissal! It was an innocuous delivery down the leg side and Latham tried the sweep again, the ball took the leading edge to go high and Pradeep did well to go forward and to his left to get his hands under it 102/2
    32.1 oh my, KW has given it away, he has slapped a full toss straight to mid-on! He came down the track as Siriwardana angled it in from round the wicket and KW swatted the waist-high full toss to mid-on where Chameera pouched it around his waist height 163/5
    18 got him this time, caught at slip, Taylor has gone for a duck! There was a bit of flight, it was just outside off and Taylor decided to go back this time to push it into the off side but the ball spun away marginally and took the outside edge to head to Mathews at slip who grabbed it with both hands 102/3
    27.3 oh, the angle has worked, Nicholls has dragged one on! Nicholls didn't move much for that and was looking to push at that outside off, the ball was angling away but he played outside the line and the inside edge made the ball crash onto the leg stump 143/4
    41.5 dug in short again, this is around off. Santner pulls and misses, he is smacked above the waistline as the ball dribbles onto the pitch, adjacent to the off side. Chameera, though, runs in, swoops down, and under-arm flicks onto the stumps, despite a desperate dive from Santner after turning back. Bracewell had called for a single, but Santner, who does the splits, can't drift back to the crease in time. Sharp work from Chameera 215/7
    37.4 the short ball works for Pradeep. Banged in as Pradeep hits the middle of the deck, and hurries Ronchi onto the pull. He skies it over the square leg umpire off the front foot, hit high on the bat. Kapu settles under the ball; another single-digit score for Ronchi 191/6
    49.1 Bracewell holes out to Senanayake off a full toss. Slogged into the lap of the sub fielder. Little New Year's present for Sena 257/8
    not out
    not out
    15 (lb 4, nb 1, w 10)
    276/8 (50 Overs, RR: 5.52)
    Did not bat: MJ McClenaghan
    Fall of wickets: 1-42 (Martin Guptill, 7.3 ov), 2-102 (Tom Latham, 17.4 ov), 3-102 (Ross Taylor, 17.6 ov), 4-143 (Henry Nicholls, 27.3 ov), 5-163 (Kane Williamson, 32.1 ov), 6-191 (Luke Ronchi, 37.4 ov), 7-215 (Mitchell Santner, 41.5 ov), 8-257 (Doug Bracewell, 49.1 ov)
    N Pradeep1005525.50324210
    PVD Chameera1003823.80424110
    TM Dilshan814305.37193100
    KMDN Kulasekara503106.20102040
    AD Mathews201708.5053010
    JDF Vandersay1015525.50294131
    TAM Siriwardana503316.6092100

Match Details


New Zealand , elected to bat first

Player Of The Match

Series result

New Zealand led the 5-match series 2-1

Match number


Hours of play (local time)

11.00 start, First Session 11.00-14.30 Interval 14.30-15.15, Second Session 15.15-18.45

Match days

31 December 2015 (50-over match)

Reserve Umpire

Match Referee

Match Notes

Williamson's fruitful year


Runs by Williamson in International matches in 2015, third-highest in a calendar year after Ponting (2833 in 2005) and Sangakkara (2813 in 2004)

Dominating first innings


Totals of 275 or more while batting first in ODIs for NZ this year. Only SA have more (12). 8 out of those 10 totals for NZ were 300+.

Chasing-friendly venue


No. of ODIs, out of five, played at this venue before have been won by the chasing team. Targets successfully chased: 319, 305, 286 and 277.

50 in no time


No. of SL batsmen reaching 50 within first 8 overs of the innings since 2002, including Gunathilaka - Dilshan v Ban, Dambulla, 2010 and K Perera v Pak, Pallekelle, 2015.

Only three


Number of nervous 90s for Dilshan in ODIs, including his 91 in this match. His previous 2: 97 v Ind, RPS, 2008-09 and 99 v SA, RPS, 2013.

Only Sri Lanka


No. of targets of 275 or more successfully chased by SL in ODIs this year losing two or fewer wickets. No other team did it even once.

Streak ends


Consecutive home ODIs won by New Zealand before this defeat. The streak began on January 31, 2015 and ends on December 31, 2015.