India 5 for 247 (Kohli 92, Badrinath 81*) beat New Zealand 9 for 246 (Watling 94, Nethula 42, Mishra 4-44) by 5 wickets

India sealed a place in the finals of the Emerging Players Tournament after a five-wicket victory over New Zealand in Brisbane. Amit Mishra starred with the ball, while Virat Kohli continued his fine batting form to help India post a comfortable win.

After New Zealand chose to bat first, both their openers were dismissed in succession by fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar, with the score on 47. The New Zealand batting was held together by BJ Watling, who scored an unbeaten 94. However, the middle order failed, as they found themselves in a spot of bother at 6 for 105 at one stage after losing four wickets for 36 runs.

Watling forged an 87-run partnership with Tarun Nethula to help revive their team to a respectable score of 246. Legspinner Amit Mishra picked up four of the last five wickets to finish with 4 for 44 from his ten overs.

India lost in-form opener Ajinkya Rahane for 24 and Naman Ojha fell almost immediately for a duck to leave them at 2 for 49. The captain S Badrinath then joined Kohli and the duo added 106 to put India in the driving seat. Kohli was dismissed for an aggressive 92 off 86 balls, but Badrinath ensured victory with a 52-run partnership with Manoj Tiwary for the fifth wicket. Badrinath was unbeaten on 81 and India won with more than five overs to spare.

South Africa 227 (van Jaarsveld 63, Rossouw 43, Floros 3-43, Smith 3-21) beat Australia Institute of Sports 44 (de Villers 5-15, Walters 3-6) by 183 runs

South Africa Emerging Players will meet India in the final after they demolished the Australian Institute of Sports by 183 to secure their eighth win in a row. A massive batting collapse from the Australians left them all out for an embarrassing 44 in 13.2 overs, with Cornelius de Villiers taking 5 for 15 to destroy the top order.

Chasing 228 for victory, Australia were never in the hunt, losing seven wickets in the first seven overs, with de Villiers taking five, including three in his third over. Only two batsmen - Rob Quiney and Jon Holland - managed to reach double figures as Craig Alexander and Basheeru-Deen Walters offered excellent support to de Villiers.

South Africa's total was built around a 97-run third-wicket partnership between captain Vaughn van Jaarsveld and Rilee Rossouw. Both batsmen fell off successive balls in the 23rd over, though, and the innings fell away thereafter, as South Africa lost their last eight wickets for only 92. Jason Floros and Steven Smith bowled tidy spells for Australia to finish with three wickets each.

South Africa now face India in the final on Saturday. Australia are out of the tournament and will play New Zealand in the third-place playoff.