Matches (16)
WI vs SA (2)
USA vs BAN (1)
County DIV1 (5)
County DIV2 (4)
ENG v PAK (1)
IPL (1)
ENG v PAK (W) (1)
CE Cup (1)

Daredevils vs Chargers, 43rd match at Durban, IPL, May 13 2009 - Full Scorecard

43rd match (D/N), Durban, May 13, 2009, Indian Premier League
(19.4/20 ov, T:174) 161

Daredevils won by 12 runs

Player Of The Match
Cricinfo's MVP
115.57 ptsImpact List
Daredevils Innings
Chargers Innings
Match Flow
Delhi Daredevils  (20 ovs maximum)
c Venugopal Rao b Ojha1925-0176.00
c Venugopal Rao b Vaas46-0066.66
c Ravi Teja b Symonds3718-71205.55
c Ravi Teja b Smith4436-41122.22
c Symonds b Vaas1110-10110.00
not out 4423-43191.30
c Shoaib Ahmed b Ojha01-000.00
run out (†Gilchrist)23-0066.66
not out 00-00-
Extras(lb 1, nb 2, w 9)12
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 8.65)173/7
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (David Warner, 1.3 ov), 2-57 (Tillakaratne Dilshan, 6.2 ov), 3-80 (Gautam Gambhir, 9.5 ov), 4-103 (Virender Sehwag, 13.5 ov), 5-130 (AB de Villiers, 16.6 ov), 6-131 (Rajat Bhatia, 17.2 ov), 7-150 (Amit Mishra, 19.1 ov)
1.3 to DA Warner, does him in by the slower one, an offcutter to the left-hander, came down the track and tried to smash it over his head, failed to pick the pace, miscued it and Venugopal Rao running back from mid-off judged it well. 7/1
13.5 to V Sehwag, Sehwag's short innings comes to an end, Symonds redeems himself, slower one bowled short of a good length on the off, Sehwag had made his mind up, went after it, tried to clear long-off though the shot wasn't really on, skied it straight to Symonds who judged it well this time. 103/4
6.2 to TM Dilshan, and now, what a relief! Almost cleared the ropes again, length ball, smashed it from the crease wide of long-on but not well enough, Ravi Teja held his nerve, retained his balance and took an excellent catch running to his right. 57/2
9.5 to G Gambhir, a wicket at the stroke of the time-out, flighted outside off, had been kept quiet for a while and charged down when he sensed he chance, got to the pitch and lofted it straight to Rao at long-on, presented a full face, but timed it too well in the end to find the fielder. 80/3
17.2 to R Bhatia, quick and short on middle and off, goes for the sweep, ends up top-edging it straight to Maqsusi at short fine. 131/6
16.6 to AB de Villiers, full toss on middle, perfect chance to clear the ropes, tries to do just that but mistimes it, pull it straight to Teja running in from deep midwicket. 130/5
Deccan Chargers  (T: 174 runs from 20 ovs)
c Nehra b Sangwan37-0042.85
b Sangwan6433-55193.93
c Warner b Sangwan67-1085.71
c Bhatia b Nannes2734-3079.41
b Bhatia4122-32186.36
b Bhatia12-0050.00
c †Karthik b Nehra13-0033.33
not out 106-10166.66
run out (Nehra)01-000.00
b Bhatia02-000.00
c de Villiers b Bhatia01-000.00
Extras(lb 3, w 5)8
TOTAL19.4 Ov (RR: 8.18)161
Fall of wickets: 1-33 (Tirumalasetti Suman, 2.5 ov), 2-40 (Rohit Sharma, 4.2 ov), 3-86 (Adam Gilchrist, 10.5 ov), 4-149 (Dwaraka Ravi Teja, 16.6 ov), 5-150 (Andrew Symonds, 17.2 ov), 6-151 (Dwayne Smith, 17.4 ov), 7-155 (Venugopal Rao, 18.3 ov), 8-155 (RP Singh, 18.4 ov), 9-161 (Pragyan Ojha, 19.3 ov), 10-161 (Shoaib Ahmed, 19.4 ov)
18.3 to Y Venugopal Rao, gone! Venugopal Rao has gloved that to the keeper, bowled it short on the off, tried to guide that past the keeper, clipped the left glove and went straight to Karthik, the umpire took a long time but eventually made the right decision. 155/7
16.6 to DB Ravi Teja, he's gone, Delhi finally strike! Banged in short on middle, went for the hook, got the top edge and it landed straight into the palms of Bhatia at fine leg. 149/4
2.5 to TL Suman, tame dismissal, slower one bowled short on the off, Suman was caught in two minds, there was never really any conviction in that attempt to clear midwicket, lobbed up straight to Nehra at mid-on, a much-needed wicket that. 33/1
4.2 to RG Sharma, Rohit goes, Sangwan strikes again! Full outside off, in the slot for Rohit who is sucked into the drive but fails to keep it down, strikes it firmly but straight to a perfectly positioned Warner at short cover. 40/2
10.5 to AC Gilchrist, Sangwan strikes!! Gilchrist is tempted to chase a full ball outside off, tried to drill it through cover, got an inside edge bang onto the off stump, massive blow!. 86/3
17.2 to A Symonds, done in by the slower one!! Big wicket for Delhi. Dibbly dobbly on middle, Symonds was into the attempted flick too early, clipped his pads before crashing into middle and off. 150/5
17.4 to DR Smith, Smith has thrown it away, legcutter,a slower one on middle and off, had a massive swing at it, missed and it cut away to clip offstump. 151/6
19.3 to PP Ojha, almost all over now, bowled round his legs, was the offcutter, moved too across to clip it behind square, missed and the leg stump took a beating. 161/9
19.4 to Shoaib Ahmed, he's holed out in the deep, can't really blame him, low full toss on middle, struck down AB de Villiers' throat at long-on. 161/10
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
  • Delhi Daredevils innings
  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 - 6.0 (Mandatory - 56 runs, 1 wicket)
  • Delhi Daredevils: 50 runs in 5.5 overs (36 balls), Extras 4
  • 2nd Wicket: 50 runs in 29 balls (G Gambhir 10, TM Dilshan 37, Ex 3)
  • Drinks: Delhi Daredevils - 81/3 in 10.0 overs (AB de Villiers 16, V Sehwag 0)
  • Delhi Daredevils: 100 runs in 13.3 overs (82 balls), Extras 5
  • Delhi Daredevils: 150 runs in 18.6 overs (116 balls), Extras 7
  • Innings Break: Delhi Daredevils - 173/7 in 20.0 overs (KD Karthik 44, PJ Sangwan 0)
  • Deccan Chargers innings
  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 - 6.0 (Mandatory - 50 runs, 2 wickets)
  • Deccan Chargers: 50 runs in 5.5 overs (35 balls), Extras 3
  • AC Gilchrist: 50 off 24 balls (5 x 4, 3 x 6)
  • Drinks: Deccan Chargers - 83/2 in 10.0 overs (AC Gilchrist 63, DB Ravi Teja 8)
  • Deccan Chargers: 100 runs in 12.1 overs (73 balls), Extras 4
  • 4th Wicket: 50 runs in 27 balls (DB Ravi Teja 10, A Symonds 38, Ex 4)
  • Deccan Chargers: 150 runs in 17.1 overs (103 balls), Extras 8
Kingsmead, Durban
TossDeccan Chargers, elected to field first
Player Of The Match
Hours of play (local time)16.30 start, First Session 16.30-17.50, Interval 17.50-18.10, Second Session 18.10-19.30
Match days13 May 2009 - daynight (20-over match)
TV Umpire
Reserve Umpire
Match Referee
PointsDelhi Daredevils 2, Deccan Chargers 0
Win Probability
DC 100%
100%50%100%DC InningsDCH Innings

Over 20 • DCH 161/10

Pragyan Ojha b Bhatia 0 (2b 0x4 0x6) SR: 0
Shoaib Ahmed c de Villiers b Bhatia 0 (1b 0x4 0x6) SR: 0
Daredevils won by 12 runs
Powered by Smart Stats
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
Chargers Innings
<1 / 3>

Indian Premier League