South Zone, Vasco da Gama, February 14, 2013, Vijay Hazare Trophy
(39.2/50 ov, T:193) 193/4

Kerala won by 6 wickets (with 64 balls remaining)


Uthappa blitz takes Karnataka to easy win

A round-up of the Vijay Hazare Trophy matches on February 14, 2013

ESPNcricinfo staff
Robin Uthappa has a net on his return to the Indian side, Kolkata, October 28, 2011

Robin Uthappa's 118-ball 169 saw Karnataka through to a six-wicket victory over Goa  •  AFP

Andhra's bowlers restricted Tamil Nadu to 221 to win their opening match by seven runs. Amol Muzumdar scored an unbeaten 60 at a run a ball to guide Andhra's innings, after they were put in to bat, but ran out of partners as his team folded in 46.2 overs. Tamil Nadu bowlers Sunil Sam and Rahil Shah took three wickets each.
The experienced pair of S Badrinath and Dinesh Karthik put on a 122-run stand for the third wicket, before falling in consecutive balls in the 34th over. They needed 76 runs from 16 overs, but then slipped with quick wickets to fall short of their target. Syed Sahabuddin was Andhra's most productive bowler, taking 4 for 33.
Gokul Sharma's all-round efforts helped Assam to a comprehensive eight-wicket victory against Tripura * at Eden Gardens. Assam's bowlers bowled economically, with Sharma taking 4 for 27, and wickets fell regularly. Ajay Ratra, the captain and wicketkeeper of Tripura, top-scored with 28.
Assam's innings started positively in comparison, they lost their first wicket with 51 runs on the board. Pallavkumar Das guided them towards the target, top-scoring with 40 off 41 balls. Sibsankar Roy and Sharma took their team home with 27 overs to spare.
Mumbai's spinners helped defend 236, to beat Baroda by 17 runs. Baroda put Mumbai in to bat, and Shoaib Shaikh top-scored with 51 and Iqbal Abdulla provided support with a rapid 43 runs off 32 balls. Baroda's seamer Sunit Singh was the pick of the bowlers, with 3 for 34.
Baroda started well in their chase, with openers Saurabh Wakaskar and Aditya Reddy scoring 61 runs together. Besides No. 3 Aditya Waghmode, who scored 42, Ambati Rayudu guided the chase with a half-century before falling in the 43rd over with the score at 192 for 7. Abdulla backed up his batting with three wickets, along with Ankeet Chavan, as Mumbai successfully restricted the flow of runs to win their opening match.
Laxmi Shukla took 5 for 34 to help Bengal win by 11 runs against Odisha, despite scoring a modest 186. Bengal were put in to bat and were at a precarious 42 for 3, with seamer Basant Mohanty taking the opener's wickets.
Manoj Tiwary and Wriddhiman Saha put on 77 runs to stabilise the innings. Mohanty returned to help finish off the tail as Bengal were dismissed inside 47 overs.
Odisha's openers perished with just 2 on the board before Niranjan Behera and Govind Podder led a recovery. At the halfway point, Odisha had seven wickets in hand and needed only 93 runs. Shukla then took control of the match and Odisha lost regular wickets to fall 12 runs short of their target.
Robin Uthappa's 169 off 118 balls ensured Karnataka's six-wicket victory against Goa . Goa were asked to bat, and opening batsman Sagun Kamat scored 110 off 112 balls to lead his side to a strong start. Amogh Desai and Robin D'Souza scored half-centuries to help push Goa's total to 318.
But Uthappa and Ganesh Satish, for Karnataka, put on a 214-run stand to keep Goa out of the reckoning, with Satish finishing on 61. Manish Pandey fell two balls later, but Karun Nair and Stuart Binny saw them home with 21 balls to spare.
Maharashtra started their tournament on a winning note, beating Gujarat by three wickets. Gujarat, who scored 289, were put in to bat and were led by a maiden century from Manprit Juneja, who top-scored with 114 off 124 balls.
Maharashtra's chase was given a strong base by solid top-order batting. Opener Vijay Zol top-scored with 69 and was ably supported by captain and wicketkeeper Rohit Motwani's 53 and Kedar Jadhav's 64. Lower-order batsmen Akshay Darekar and Shrikant Mundhe took the team home with five balls to spare.
Opener Prashant Gupta and Suresh Raina, with their attacking knocks of 87 and 70, took Uttar Pradesh to a commanding eight-wicket victory over Rajasthan in a match shortened to 35 overs due to wet outfield in Indore. In their chase of 199, the opening stand of 69 between Gupta and Eklavya Dwivedi was broken in the 15th over, when Dwivedi was out for 27. Gupta and Raina, then, added 111 in 87 balls, with Raina smashing four sixes in his 48-ball knock. He eventually took them home in the 32nd over.
Rajasthan's innings was built on fifties from Ashok Menaria and Rajesh Bishnoi, who put on 81 runs for the third wicket. A five-ball 17 from Raman Chahar got them to 198.
Railways scraped through to a one-wicket victory off the last over of their match against Madhya Pradesh. Opener Amit Paunikar scored a fifty, but they looked to be facing defeat when a collapse - four wickets for 14 runs - left them struggling at 114 for 7, needing another 58 runs to win. Rakesh Mishra and No. 9 Amit Mishra kept them in the hunt with a 53-run partnership, but when they were separated in the 48th over, the eighth wicket had fallen. Another wicket, that of No. 10 Krishnakant Upadhyay off the first ball of the final over, with three more runs to win, gave MP hope. Two runs off the next two balls tied the scores, before No. 11 Shailender Gehlot sealed the contest by hitting a six.
Seamer Ishwar Pandey was MP's most productive bowler, with four wickets. For Railways, seamer Gehlot and spinner Ashish Yadav shared eight wickets between them, crippling the MP innings, as they were bowled out for 172.
In Goa, seven wickets between seamers Prasanth Parameswaran and Sandeep Warrier, and a knock of 93 from Rohan Prem helped Kerala to a six-wicket victory against Hyderabad. Chasing 193, Kerala lost opener VA Jagadeesh in the first over, before Sanju Samson and Prem added 59 runs to steady their innings. Prem stuck around for most of the chase, and besides Samson, Robert Fernandez and captain Sachin Baby gave him support.
Hyderabad, on the other hand, couldn't recover from the first blow in their innings, the wicket of Kolla Sumanth. The two seamers, Parameswaran and Warrier, reduced them to 33 for 5 in the 16th over. But Hanuma Vihari scored 81, and put on valuable stands of 95 and 43 with Ashish Reddy and Amol Shinde as Hyderabad recovered to post 192.
* The piece had initially stated that Tripura had defeated Assam. This has been corrected.

Kerala Innings
<1 / 3>
Vijay Hazare Trophy
Central Zone
East Zone
North Zone
J + K50400-1.041
South Zone
West Zone