At Hamilton, March 8. Australia won by seven wickets. Toss: India. Raman, Manjrekar and Azharuddin distinguished themselves as India reached 92 for one. But the off-spin of Peter taylor, and Alderman's usual meticulous accuracy, kept the final total to 211, even though Kapil Dev swung to good effect. The Australians set about their task in a businesslike fashion, with Marsh (one six, nine fours) and Mark Taylor (eight fours) always in command during a partnership of 112. It was the 42nd over before Australia averaged 4 runs an over, but by then the result was not in doubt. Hirwani was the best of the Indian bowlers, his flight and turn causing problems.