Darren Sammy, West Indies' Twenty20 captain, has been ruled out of the two T20 matches against New Zealand later his month due to his hamstring injury. Dwayne Bravo, the one-day captain, will lead the side that still will not include Chris Gayle who has yet to recover from his hamstring problem.

Sammy suffered his injury when he was running around a damp outfield in Queenstown before the third ODI. He will remain with the squad to aid the rehabilitation and his place has been taken by left-arm spinner Nikita Miller. "Darren is undergoing treatment and should be fit to return to playing duties in time for the Regional Super50 Tournament which starts later this month in Trinidad," said West Indies team physiotherapist C.J. Clark.

West Indies had previously announced that three additional players - Andre Fletcher, Andre Russell and Samuel Badree - would be joining the squad in New Zealand and Russell, the allrounder, will be considered for selection for the final ODI in Hamilton.

West Indies' squad has been severely depleted in recent weeks and for the Nelson one-dayer they were selecting from just 12 fit players. Along with the absent Gayle and injured Sammy, Marlon Samuels and Darren Bravo have flown home and Ravi Rampaul suffered a broken finger although he remains on the tour. From what would be a first-choice team, Kemar Roach and Kieran Pollard are also missing - Pollard is still recovering from a knee injury.

New Zealand, meanwhile have named a 12-man squad for T20 series made up of those who have appeared in the current ODIs minus Kane Williamson and Kyle Mills who have been left out and will play in the domestic tournament*. That means a very different side will take the field compared to the experimental XI that faced Sri Lanka in Pallekele during November; only five of that team are in the full-strength squad of 14.

"We are keen to keep this group together but are mindful of the strong performances from a number of other players including Hamish Rutherford, and Anton Devcich," Bruce Edgar, the national selector, said. "We are fortunate to be in a position to have a range of quality players to choose from."

New Zealand Brendon McCullum (capt), Corey Anderson, Martin Guptill, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor

West Indies Dwayne Bravo (capt), Samuel Badree, Tino Best, Johnson Charles, Narsingh Deonarine, Andre Fletcher, Jason Holder, Nikita Miller, Sunil Narine, Kieran Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Chadwick Walton

*The story was amended to correct the New Zealand squad to 12 players