Former Warrior Edmondson joins South Australia

South Australia have signed the fast bowlers Ben Edmondson and Tim Lang to boost their squad for 2010-11

Cricinfo staff
Ben Edmondson sends down a delivery, Western Australia v Tasmania, Sheffield Shield, Perth, October 20, 2008

Once was Warrior: Ben Edmondson is now with the Redbacks  •  Getty Images

South Australia have signed the fast bowlers Ben Edmondson and Tim Lang to boost their squad for 2010-11. Edmondson, who originally moved from Queensland to Perth to pursue his career and has 51 first-class games to his name, was not offered a contract by Western Australia after a 2009-10 that was severely interrupted by injuries.
At 31, Edmondson will add experience to a mostly young pace attack, and he will be looking to recapture the form he showed in 2006-07 when he was third on the Pura Cup wicket tally. He remains a bowler capable of genuine pace and swing, although he managed only one Sheffield Shield game last summer after a three-month lay-off due to a fractured finger.
Lang, 29, was a more surprising pick-up for the Redbacks, having not represented New South Wales since he played four Twenty20s for them in January 2007. Lang had a consistent season in Sydney grade cricket last summer, taking 34 wickets, and will join an attack that has lost the allrounder Mark Cleary to Victoria.
South Australia had already recruited the Victorian fast man Rob Cassell and his former Bushrangers batting colleague Aiden Blizzard. The Redbacks have opted for plenty of change during the off-season, sacking Mark Cosgrove and Dan Cullen and appointing Michael Klinger to replace Graham Manou as captain.
South Australia squad Cullen Bailey, Aiden Blizzard, Cameron Borgas, Rob Cassell, Daniel Christian, Tom Cooper, Chris Duval, Ben Edmondson, Callum Ferguson (Cricket Australia contract), Peter George, Jake Haberfield, Daniel Harris, Michael Klinger (capt), Tim Lang, Tim Ludeman, Graham Manou, Aaron O'Brien, Kieron Pollard, Gary Putland, James Smith, Shaun Tait (Cricket Australia contract).
Rookies Tom Brinsley, Michael Cranmer, Joel Davies, Michael Delaney, Tom Moffat, Kane Richardson.