ICC may end rotation system for president

The ICC is planning on bringing in a significant change in the way it governs the game by scrapping the rotation policy currently in operation for appointing presidents

Alan Isaac, the ICC vice-president, at the ICC board meeting, Dubai, October 12, 2010

Allan Isaac was only appointed ICC vice-president after former Australian prime minister John Howard's nomination was objected to by a number of boards  •  Getty Images

The ICC is planning a significant change to the governance of the game by scrapping the rotation policy currently in operation for appointing presidents. The change is likely to be put up for endorsement at June's annual general meeting of board members in Hong Kong.
Under the current system, Pakistan and Bangladesh - the two members who are to put up the next candidates for president and vice-president - are both believed to have objected to the change. "We don't agree with the proposal of change and we have shown our reservations to the ICC," PCB chief operating officer Subhan Ahmed said. "We are in touch with the ICC over the matter and will decide the future course of action soon."
ICC sources, however, confirmed to ESPNcricinfo that plans are underway to change the rotation policy, which was the main topic of discussion at an ICC governance committee meeting in Chennai last week.
Such a change may have had its genesis in the fate that overtook the former Australian prime minister John Howard when he was nominated for the ICC vice-presidency in 2010. Howard, the rotational choice of Australia and New Zealand, was rejected out of hand by other nations, causing heated debate at last year's annual conference in Singapore. The New Zealander Alan Isaac was ultimately chosen instead.
When the post of president was first created at the ICC, each full member appointed one man for the post on a rotational basis: Jagmohan Dalmiya from India, Malcolm Gray from Australia, Ehsan Mani from Pakistan and Percy Sonn from South Africa were the men appointed under this system.
In 2007, the system was tweaked and the post of vice-president was also created. Though rotation stayed as a policy, nominations now came from pairs of countries: Australia-New Zealand, West Indies-England, India-Sri Lanka, Pakistan-Bangladesh and South Africa-Zimbabwe.