Ishan Kishan ruled out of third T20I

The India keeper-batter suffered a blow to the helmet while batting in the second match on Saturday

Ishan Kishan gets attention from the physio after being struck on the helmet, India vs Sri Lanka, 2nd T20I, Dharamsala, February 26, 2022

Ishan Kishan is attended to by the physio  •  BCCI

India wicketkeeper Ishan Kishan has been ruled out of Sunday's third T20I against Sri Lanka in Dharamsala.
Kishan underwent a precautionary CT scan, as advised by the team's medical staff, after he copped a blow on the helmet during the second T20I on Saturday. He was subsequently discharged after a brief period of observation for concussion at a hospital in Kangra.
A BCCI statement, released on Sunday, said the scan's findings were normal. "The BCCI Medical Team," the statement said, "will continue to closely monitor his signs of concussion."
The incident occurred in the fourth over of India's chase on Saturday, when Kishan was beaten by a sharp bouncer from Lahiru Kumara. The impact of the delivery had Kishan taking off his helmet even as the Sri Lankan fielders gathered around him. Kishan batted on for three more deliveries before being dismissed for a 15-ball 16.
In the absence of Kishan, India may turn to Sanju Samson to keep wicket and to Mayank Agarwal to open the batting.
Agarwal was summoned after Ruturaj Gaikwad was ruled out of the series with a wrist injury. Agarwal had been quarantining in Chandigarh, a four-hour drive from Dharamsala, along with the rest of India's Test squad to face Sri Lanka from March 4.
A seven-wicket win over on Saturday gave India a 2-0 lead and their 11th successive T20I victory, a run that started at the World Cup last year following twin losses to Pakistan and New Zealand.
1139 GMT The article was updated with confirmation that Kishan would miss the third T20I.