Top Curve
Sri Lanka A squad to South Africa
  • Thilina Kandamby (capt), Upul Tharanga, Tharanga Paranavitana, Jehan Mubarak, Dilruwan Perera, Gihan Rupasinghe, Angelo Mathews, Kaushal Silva, Rangana Herath, Malinga Bandara, Dammika Prasad, Sujeewa de Silva, Chanaka Welegedara, Suranga Lakmal, Ishara Amerasinghe.
Bottom Curve

Thilina Kandamby, the left-hand batsman, will lead Sri Lanka A on the tour to South Africa. The 15-member team comprises both players with international experience and young talent.

Upul Tharanga and Jehan Mubarak, who were left out of the team for the home ODIs against India, were included in the squad. Tharanga was named vice-captain of the side, while Mubarak will play only the first three matches of the tour, as he will join the Sri Lanka team for the Champions Trophy in Pakistan. The squad has experienced bowlers in Rangana Herath, Malinga Bandara, Dilruwan Perera, Dammika Prasad, Sujeewa de Silva, Chanaka Welagedara and Ishara Amerasinghe.

The youngsters picked are fast bowler Suranga Lakmal, left-arm spinner Gihan Rupasinghe, Angelo Mathews, a promising allrounder, and Tharanga Paranavitana, who was the leading run-getter in the Premier League Tournament Tier A in 2007-08. Kandamby was the second-highest run-scorer behind Paranavitana, and both were part of the Sinhalese Sports Club side that won the title. Kaushal Silva is the wicketkeeper in the squad.

Sri Lanka will play a three four-day games and five one-dayers against South Africa A besides a warm-up three-day and one-day game.