Karnataka win after a wobble

A round-up of the Group A matches of the Ranji Trophy that took place on December 9, 2013

Karnataka 256 and 97 for 7 (Patel 5-41) beat Haryana 247 (Saini 109) and 105 (More 5-20) by three wickets
A career-best haul of 11-96 from Haryana seamer Harshal Patel injected late life into the match, but Stuart Binny remained unbeaten to help Karnataka win by three wickets in Lahli. At the start of the fourth day, Karnataka needed 35 with six wickets in their hands and they made comfortable progress to move to within 15 runs of the win. However, Patel, bowling unchanged throughout the innings, struck three times in three overs to leave Karnataka reeling on 87 for 7, still 10 runs adrift of the target. CM Gautam was dismissed for 5, while Ganesh Satish and Abrar Kazi left without scoring.
Abhimanyu Mithun blocked out seven deliveries and Binny ensured the target was reached in Patel's next over. He scored 31 off 30 deliveries that included four boundaries. It was Karnataka's second win this year and it pushed them past Gujarat in the Group A table. They are now placed second behind Mumbai.
Karnataka are currently second in Group A, with 19 points, but with difficult games against Mumbai, Punjab and Delhi to come, their qualification to the knockouts is far from secured.
Delhi 442 (Bhatia 158, Manhas 92) and 221 for 6 dec (Rawal 51, Yadav 50*) drew with Odisha 379 (Behera 158, Awana 5-97) and 37 for 0
Delhi and Odisha played out a draw in Sambalpur, but Delhi secured three crucial points due to a first-innings lead.
Delhi, who began at an overnight score 49 for 2 with a lead of 112, batted for almost 80 overs in the second innings, before declaring at 221 for 6. Virender Sehwag, who has disappointed with the bat in his last few outings for Delhi, once again failed to convert his start into a big score, falling for 44. Vaibhav Rawal and Rahul Yadav were the team's standout performers, with both scoring half-centuries and putting up a sixth-wicket stand of 71, to set Odisha a target of 285.
With only a few overs remaining and a win out of the question, the Odisha openers Bikas Pati and Deepak Behera added 37 before the umpires called stumps.
Punjab 184 (Mandeep 56, Wagh 3-34) and 469 for 6 dec (Jiwanjot 200, Uday Kaul 133) drew with Vidarbha 360 (Fazal 99, Jangid 104, Sandeep Sharma 5-90) and 186 for 3 (Kolhar 91, Shrivastava 69*)
Jiwanjot Singh and Uday Kaul notched a double-hundred and century respectively, but Punjab had little else to cheer, after Vidarbha took three important points due to a first-innings lead. Jiwanjot, on 188 overnight, was out for exactly 200, having struck 25 fours, while Uday made 133. Punjab eventually declared at 469 for 5, having batted for 24 overs on the fourth day to add 139 to their overnight 330 for 1.
This left Vidarbha 294 to get for their second win of the season, but those hopes received a quick blow when Punjab struck twice early. Sandeep Sharma trapped Faiz Fazal for a duck in the first over, and Siddarth Kaul dismissed Ravi Jangid for 10 in the 14th to leave the visitors at 46 for 2.
But Akshay Kolhar and the captain Shalabh Shrivastava shut the door on Punjab, putting up 140 for the third wicket in 39 overs. Kolhar faced 154 balls to score 91, before getting out in the 53rd over. Shrivastava was batting on 60 having struck five fours, before the game fizzled out into an inevitable stalemate.