Matches (13)
WC Warm-up (3)
Marsh Cup (1)
County DIV1 (5)
County DIV2 (4)

Khanna eight-for gives Punjab innings win

A round-up of all the Ranji Trophy Group B matches on October 4, 2015

Punjab 604 for 5 dec (Gurkeerat 201*, U Kaul 112, Mandeep 109, Khera 102*) beat Railways 196 (Ashish 90, Wakaskar 69, Sran 6-61, S Kaul 4-53) & 282 (Ghosh 98*, Awasthi 44, Khanna 8-97) by an innings and 126 runs
Left-arm spinner Varun Khanna's eight-wicket haul, his maiden five-for, helped Punjab complete an innings win against Railways in Mohali and move to the top of Group B.
Defeat appeared imminent for Railways when they resumed the final day on 125 for 5, still 283 runs away from making Punjab bat again. Railways lost their first wicket in the 10th over of the day for the addition of 20 runs, when Khanna removed Karn Sharma. However, overnight batsman Arindam Ghosh put on 50 runs in the company of Arnab Nandi (33) before Khanna had Nandi caught and bowled.
The other significant partnership for Railways came through Ghosh and Krishnakant Upadhyay who added 40 runs for the ninth wicket. But it wasn't long before the last two wickets fell, and Ghosh was left stranded on 98. Railways' innings lasted 39 overs on the fourth day.
Andhra 244 (Bhui 103, Kaif 90, Sandhu 5-53) & 176 for 3 (Prashanth Kumar 59, Kaif 49*) drew with Mumbai 237 (Lad 86, B Ayyappa 6-71)
Seamer B Ayyappa's 6 for 71 was instrumental in Andhra securing the first-innings against Mumbai in Vizianagaram, after the visitors fell seven runs short of Andhra's 244.
Resuming on 158 for 5, Mumbai inched forward through Siddhesh Lad and Abhishek Nayar, and closed in on the 200 mark when Nayar was run out in the 80th over. Mumbai lost two more wickets in the next 10 overs, for the addition of 36 runs: Ayyappa dismissed Dhawal Kulkarni and, more crucially, Lad for 86 and later cleaned up the tail to collect his maiden five-wicket haul.
Andhra then batted solidly in their second innings to ensure they walked away with three points.
Uttar Pradesh 686 for 7 declared (Saif 198, Sarfaraz 155, Shaukat 128) drew against Madhya Pradesh 531 for 7 (Shrivastava 169, Naman Ojha 88, Rajpoot 4-87)
Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh shared a point each in Moradabad, following a strong batting display from Madhya Pradesh. In reply to UP's 686 for 7, MP, who began the day at 234 for 3, were buoyed by a 150-run stand for the fourth wicket between Aditya Shrivastava and Devendra Bundela. Shrivastava, playing in only his fourth first-class match, made his way to 169 before being caught behind off Ankit Rajpoot. Rajpoot also accounted for Bundela, who scored 80, in his next over, but Harpreet Singh, the No.7 batsman, held firm at his end, striking an unbeaten 88 to lead his team to 531 for 7, and denied UP a first-innings lead. Rajpoot was UP's best bowler, taking 4 for 87.